Australia ‘s newest Rotax National Champions have been crowned in a day of close racing and in conditions that could not be rivalled as the rankings season concluded for Rotax in Australia.

The finals opened with a reflection of the traditional custodians of the land and an acknowledgement of the indigenous people before the Australian National anthem adding to the excitement and enthusiasm of the racing ahead. Fastest qualifiers were presented with a custom made boomerang and winners a didgeridoo engraved with their category on it as extra credit of their success.

Daniel Richert drove away from the extensive DD2 Masters field in the shortened 24 lap final, leading the race by in excess of 13 seconds over the course of the event. Hamish Leighton showed a strong performance to hold down 2nd throughout the race, and taking advantage of an early race clash between Niki Urwin (NZ) and Scott Connole. Trading places occurred throughout the race for the final podium spot between Jose Ruiz, Lee Adams, Peter Newland and Brett Cowley however it would be Ruiz that would hold out to take 3rd.

Victoria’s Matthew Wall has now added to his huge tally of success after he claimed the Rotax Heavy National title over a hard charging Brendan Nelson. The two diced throughout the race, with Lee Mitchener maintaining 3rd for a majority of the race before the Formula K driver made a mistake late in the event that would result in a DNF. Both Matthew Greenbury and Rick Pringle developed a battle over the race, with Paul Rodgers gaining on the two later in the race, and with Mitchener’s retirement it became a battle to claim the final podium position. Greenbury backed up from his form in the Warwick Pro Tour round to take 3rd over Pringle and Rodgers. Lehane_Sunday-win.gif

Bruce Otter’s performances across the entire Rotax Nationals weekend have been rewarded with victory in the Rotax Over 40’s final. Shane Karandrews suffered mechanical dilemmas at the beginning of the weekend however his Tony Kart came on strong at the right end of the weekend to take 2nd, with both Malcolm Walker and Lucas Burt fighting for 3rd and 4th which is where they would remain at the chequered flag and Exprit driver Peter Virgulti rounding out the top 5. Post race adjustments to the race results saw Lucas Burt awarded 2nd and Peter Virgulti 3rd.

David Sera broke out to an early lead in the Rotax Light final, however pressure was applied early on with both Joseph Mawson and Pierce Lehane. A mid race incident involving Sera and New Zealand’s Fraser Hart brought out the red flag with all drivers involved ok. On a single file restart, Lehane managed to lead from start to finish, the battles however continued behind him with Mawson, Daniel Kinsman (NZ) and Nathan Tigani all vying for position. Through multiple changes in position, Mawson eventually crossed the line in 2nd ahead of Kinsman and Tyler Greenbury with Brock Plumb completing the top 5.

New Zealand’s Josh Drysdale was on pole position for the start of the Junior Max final, and his early lead had many considering that a National title would head across the Tasman. Thomas Randle didn’t lose sight of Drysdale however, with determination in his sight to claim victory. Starting from 3rd, Joseph Burton-Harris also looked to reign in a tilt at the lead, while a hard charging James Golding looked to improve on a somewhat mixed weekend. The Victorian found his way to 2nd late in the race before a last lap pass from Burton-Harris landed him 2nd across the line ahead of Golding, all of this occurred behind Thomas Randle who drove away in the closing laps to take victory. CRG’s Jake Coleman crossed the line in 4th with Drysdale in 5th. Randle_Sunday-win_JMAX.gif

Qualifying on pole position has proved to benefit Lucas Ward right throughout the Rotax Nationals weekend, playing into his hands in the final, with the Queensland teenager taking victory in Dubbo. Jason Pringle and Troy Bretherton engaged in battle early on for the minor placing’s. It was Travis Millar who broke out early in the race in the lead and look set to take the win, however a late race mistake saw him drop to 4th, opening up the podium to both Pringle and Bretherton. By the fall of the chequered flag, Troy Bretherton held on for 2nd in front of Pringle and Millar with Troy Woolston completing the top 5.

Images: Pierce Lehane 11, takes victory in Rotax Light, Thomas Randle 94, takes victory in Junior Max.
All images courtesy of Bill Bryant/Fletchers Photography.


Supplied by Liam Meegan, Rotax Nationals – Media Liaison





KartSport New Zealand