CRCSS Top Half Series logo (2).jpg




Back-to-back class wins for Caleb Hartley and Stephen Muggeridge were just two of the highlights of this year's CRC Speedshow-backed Top Half Series.16TopHalfRnd4CadetROKKadenProbst2.jpg

The series concluded at the KartSport Auckland club's Strata Networks Raceway on Sunday with karters from all over the North Island racing in conditions which spanned the spectrum of cold and dry to torrential rain being blown horizontally by a blustery westerly wind.

Local ace Caleb Hartley again proved the driver to beat in the 125cc Rotax Max Heavy class, winning four of the five heats and finishing third in the other to lead home KartSport Mt Wellington club member Henry Gelb and KartSport Rotorua's Ashton Baird.

In doing so Hartley successfully defended his 2015 Top Half Series class title with Ashley Baird second and Henry Gelb third.

Stephen Muggeridge from the Eastern Bay of Plenty club didn't have it quite so easy in the ClubSport 120 class, finishing second on the day to clubmate Mark Rose. It was still enough for him to successfully defend his 2015 series' class title though, with clubmate Graham Knight second and Dean Oliver from the KartSport Whangarei club third.16TopHalfRnd4CadetROKSManson22RBell97EVincent10.jpg

It turned out to be good weekend all round for the KartSport Whangarei club which also won the hotly-contested club's title for the second year running.

Other round and series' class winners on Sunday were Kaden Probst in Cadet ROK, Josh Parkinson in Rotax Junior, Sam Waddell in DD2 and Corey Green in 125cc Rotax Max Light.

KartSport Mt Wellington club member Probst was the class act in the rain in Cadet ROK, with three wins from five starts, taking the round and series' wins from KartSport Bay of Plenty's Ryan Bell. Third on the day was KartSport Auckland club member Emerson Vincent, third in the series' point standings, Sebastian Manson from KartSport Mt Wellington.

Josh Parkinson from KartSport Mt Wellington shared heat wins in Rotax Junior with KartSport Auckland's Taylor Hurst and Ashton Grant from KartSport Mt Wellington but claimed the round win from Joseph Terry from KartSport Bay of Plenty and Hurst, and the series'  win from KartSport Auckland's Lee Zeltwanger and Terry.

With international Mathew Kinsman (KartSport Mt Wellington) and former KZ2 class race winner Jason Lee (KartSport Auckland) in the field Sam Waddell from KartSport Bay of Plenty had his work cut out in the DD2 class. A win and three second places saw him right though, a round win over Lee and Auckland club mate Glenn Ellis guaranteeing him the series' title over Ellis and another KartSport Auckland club member, Bond Roby.

Waddell also proved his versatility by finishing sixth on the day and third overall in the other class he contested this year, 125cc Rotax Max Light.16TopHalfRnd4DD2HeavyTBarrington19MDixon29.jpg

Round and series' victory in that class went to Corey Green from the KartSport Bay of Plenty club. Green finished second in class in last year's series and went one better this year, claiming a close round win at Auckland over Brad Wenzlick from KartSport Hamilton and Dylan Smith from KartSport Auckland, and a comfortable series' win over Elliott Malcolm from KartSport Mt Wellington and Sam Waddell.

There were two winners, meanwhile, in the hotly contested Vortex Mini ROK class, KartSport Mt Wellington club member Josh Richmond pipping KartSport Hamilton clubmates Connor Davison and Clay Osborne for round victory but Davison comfortably claiming the series' title from Richmond and KartSport Bay of Plenty club member Blake Austin.

This year's CRC Speedshow Top Half series had a prize pool including a minimum of $8,500 in prize money, $6,000 in CRC product giveaways, four sets of MG tyres and a custom-painted Arai SK-6 helmet complete with helmet bag courtesy Arai NZ, Headcase Designs and Lightning Racegear valued at $2000.

The custom helmet draw was won by KartSport Auckland club member Callum Armstrong, and the Lightning Race Gear packages were won by Glenn Ellis (Senior) and Zach Blincoe (Junior), from KartSport Auckland and KartSport Mt Wellington respectively.

The trophy for most improved Senior driver went to Thomas King from KartSport Mt Wellington, the trophy for most improved Junior to Caitlin Stanley from KartSport Bay of Plenty.

CRC Speedshow is New Zealand's premier automotive and motorsport expo and this year was held at Auckland's ASB Showgrounds over the July 16-17 weekend.

Class sponsors this year were KartZone from Tauranga (Cadet ROK),  Supreme Kart Supplies from New Plymouth (Vortex Mini ROK),  Spartan 4Toyota in Auckland (Rotax Max Junior),  Lascom Motorsport Auckland (125cc Rotax Max Light), Barfoot & Thompson Pukekohe (125cc Rotax Max Heavy), WRB  Karting Supplies Whangarei (Raket 120), and Right Karts Auckland,  (DD2).


CAPTIONS: Battling the conditions at the final round of this year's CRC Speedshow Top Half Series were Kaden Probst (#2), Sebastian Manson (#22), Ryan bell (#97) and  Emerson Vincent (#10), Tony Barrington (#19) and Mark Dixon (#29), and Jack Neill (#15), and Ayrton Williams (#46). Photo credit: Fast Company/Ross MacKay

2016 CRC Speedshow Top Half Series
Round and series' final points class by class

125cc Rotax Max Light
1. Corey Green; 2. Brad Wenzlick; 3. Dylan Smith; 4. Elliott Malcolm; 5. Felix Hume; 6. Sam Waddell   
1. Corey Green 1137 points; 2. Elliott Malcolm 1075; 3. Sam Waddell 1070; 4. Dylan Hallberg 1060; 5. Brad Wenzlick 1059; 6.  Felxi Hume 1042

1. Sam Waddell; 2. Jason Lee; 3. Glenn Ellis; 4. Mathew Kinsman; 5. Bond Roby; 6. Simeon Woolsey   
1. Sam Waddell 1138 points; 2. Glenn Ellis 1101; 3. Bond Roby 1083

125cc Rotax Max Heavy
1. Caleb Hartley; 2. Henry Gelb; 3. Ashton Baird; 4. Darren Walker; 5. Scott Allright; 6. Samuel Carpenter        
1. Caleb Hartley 1140 points; 2. Ashton Baird 1103; Henry Gelb 1101

120 ClubSport
1. Mark Rose; 2. Stephen Muggeridge; 3. Graham Knight; 4. Dean Oliver; 5. Cliff Walsh; 6. Steve Carter           
1. Stephen Muggeridge 1121 points; 2. Graham Knight 1115; 3. Dean Oliver 1101; 4. Richard Macey 1100

Rotax Junior
1. Joshua Parkinson; 2. Joseph Terry; 3. Taylor Hurst; 4. Ashton Grant; 5. Lee Zeltwanger; 6. Fynn Osborne       
1.  Joshua Parkinson 1118 points; 2. Lee Zeltwanger 1103; 3. Joseph Terry 1088; 4. Taylor Hurst 1077; 5. Fynn Osborne 1064; 6. Ashton Grant 1050

Vortex Mini ROK  
1. Josh Richmond; 2. Connor Davison; 3. Clay Osborne; 4. Blake Austin; 5. Ryan Crombie; 6. Dylan Grant
1. Connor Davison 1116 points; 2. Josh Richmond 1084; 3. Blake Austin 1082; 4. Ryan Crombie 1080; 5. Clay Osborne 1059; 6. Jack Neill 1014

Cadet ROK
1. Kaden Probst; 2. Ryan Bell; 3. Emerson Vincent; 4. Sebastian Manson; 5. Hayden Bakkerus; 6. Mitchell Sparrow.
1. Kaden Probst 1132 points; 2. Ryan Bell 1115; 3. Sebastian Manson 1108; 4. Haydem Bakkerus 1079; 5. Ashton Phipps 1064; 6. Jay Urwin 1025/

Rnd 1: Sun April 10 Holsters Trade Zone Raceway Tokoroa
Rnd 2: Sun May 29 Te Puke Auto Electric Raceway Te Puke
Rnd 3: Sun June 26 Windward Properties Raceway Mt Wellington, Auckland
2016 CRC Speedshow Sat-Sun July 16-17 ASB Showgrounds Auckland
Rnd 4: Sun July 31 Strata Networks Raceway, Avondale Auckland

Prepared by FAST COMPANY on behalf of KartSport New Zealand. To find out more about the 2016 CRC Speedshow Top Half Series contact Ross MacKay on 021 677 919 or via e-mail at ross@fastcompany.co.nz





KartSport New Zealand