wpka building champions greyfinal.jpg




It's a case of 'back to business' after a summer break for karters from all over the country as they head to Wellington for the third round of the 2015/16 Bayleys WPKA Goldstar Series. 16GoldStarR2FJuniorRiannaOMearaHunt69leadsMaddieStewart28-1.jpg

With the first round held in November at Waitara in Taranaki and the second in December at Palmerston North it will have been three months since early class pacesetters like Brad Still from New Plymouth, Rianna O'Meara-Hunt from Wellington and Jackson Rooney from Palmerston North last chased Goldstar series points.

And since the second round there has been a venue swap, with this weekend's round now being hosted by KartSport Wellington at Kaitoke.

KartSport Hawke's Bay was originally down to host the round but the club swapped the March 06 date with KartSport Wellington because of a previously unforeseen date clash with the Horse of The Year event in Hastings.

The annual Horse of The Year event is one of Hawke's Bay's biggest and when karters from outside the province tried to book accommodation earlier this year they found - literally - that every motel and hotel was booked out by their equestrian counterparts!!

With Wellington now hosting the third round, Hawke's Bay will take over the date of the fourth, Sunday May 01.

This season's Bayleys WPKA Goldstar series has already proved one of the most competitive to date, attracting karters to lower North Island tracks from Dunedin in the south and Auckland in the north.16GoldStarR2CadetROKLiamSceats23leadsLouisSharpSIandLoganManson16-1.jpg

Heading into the third round it's hard to bet against drivers like Brad Still in 125cc Rotax Max Light, Rianna O'Meara-Hunt in Formula Junior and Jackson Rooney in Vortex Mini ROK. But there are plenty of other drivers who will be taking the battle to them again on Sunday.

Up against Still in 125cc Rotax Max Light will be Taylor Harte from Tauranga and Ashleigh Stewart from Wellington, while set to take the battle to O'Meara-Hunt in Formula Junior are  Tom Greig and Bayley Walker from Palmerston North.

Aucklanders Liam Sceats and Mason Potter are again expected to be battling Christchurch's Louis Sharp for top honours in Cadet ROK, while Palmerston North driver Ashley Higgins and Nelson's Brendon Gridley should again feature in 125cc Rotax Max Heavy.

Race day is Sunday with action on track from 9.00am.

CAPTIONS: Class winners at the second 2015/16 Bayleys WPKA series meeting in Palmerston North in December last year included Rianna O'Meara-Hunt (Formula Junior #69) and Liam Sceats (#23) in Cadet ROK. Photo credit: Fast Company/Vicky Jack


2014/15 Bayleys WPKA Goldstar Series
Rnd 1 Nov 08 2015 Todd Energy Raceway Waitara Taranaki
Rnd 2 Dec 06 2015 Manawatu Toyota Raceway Palmerston North Manawatu
Rnd 3 March 06 2016 Kaitoke Wellington
Rnd 4 May 01 2016 Chemz Raceway Roy's Hill Hastings Hawke's Bay

WPKA Championships June 05 2016 Todd Energy Raceway Waitara Taranaki


Prepared by FAST COMPANY on behalf of KartSport New Zealand. To find out more about KartSport in New Zealand contact Ross MacKay on 021 677 919 or via e-mail at ross@fastcompany.co.nz


KartSport New Zealand