Namesakes Daniel Bray and Daniel Kinsman led the title charge in their respective classes on the third and final day of 13GoProKSNZNatsOpenDanielBray-1.jpgcompetition at this year's GoPro KartSport New Zealand National Sprint Championships in Wellington on Sunday.

The pair made light of the showers that swept KartSport Wellington's Wynn's Raceway high in the hills behind Upper Hutt, Bray the dominant figure in his unique twin-engined kart in the Open class, and Kinsman maintaining his reputation as the man to beat in 125cc Rotax Max Light.

Four class titles were contested on Sunday, the others going to Hawke's Bay driver Zach Zaloum (125cc Rotax Max Heavy) and Taylor Harte from the Eastern Bay of Plenty (KF3).

After two days of racing in warm, dry conditions rain added an extra dimension to the final day with showers sweeping across the circuit through the Time Trials and heats but clearing for the Finals in each class.  13GoProKSNZNatsRotaxLightDanielKinsman-2.jpg

Though a number of drivers contested more than one class, no one managed to win more than one class title this year.

Several drivers did, however, got close, Bray also finishing second to teammate Mathew Hamilton in KZ2 and Daniel Kinsman second to James Penrose in 100cc Yamaha Light on Saturday.

Visiting Australian drivers Lane Moore and Michael Saller also did well, finishing second and third respectively in 125cc Rotax Max Heavy.

Ten class titles were contested over the weekend, the other six split three per day on Friday and Saturday.

On Friday Mathew Hamilton from Christchurch won KZ2, Caleb Cross from Rangiora  won Junior Restricted 100cc Yamaha and Callum Hedge from the Bay of Plenty won Cadet. 13GoProKSNZNatsRotaxHeavyZachZaloum-1.jpg

On Saturday James Penrose from North Loburn (near Rangiora) successfully defended his 2012 New Zealand title in the Senior 100cc Yamaha Light class, Simon Hunter won the Senior 100cc Yamaha Heavy title and fellow Christchurch driver Marcus Armstrong claimed the New Zealand Junior 100cc Yamaha class crown

Results: GoPro 2013 KartSport New Zealand National Sprint Championships KartSport Wellington Wynn's Raceway Kaitoke, Upper Hutt Wellington Fri-Sun March 29-31 2013

125cc Rotax Max Light
1. Daniel Kinsman (Auckland)
2. Daniel Connor (Helensville)
3. Aaron Hodgson (Auckland)

125cc Rotax Max Heavy
1. Zach Zaloum (Hawke's Bay) 13GoProKSNZNatsKF3TaylorHarte-1.jpg
2. Lane Moore (Australia)
3. Michael Saller (Australia)

1. Daniel Bray (Auckland)
2. Richard Moore (Auckland)
3. John Wallace (Manawatu)

1. Taylor Harte (Bay of Plenty)
2. Mitchell Turner (Hawke's Bay)
3. Aaran Crighton (Auckland)

Junior 100cc Yamaha
1. Marcus Armstrong (Christchurch)
2. Trey Nairn (Hawke's Bay)
3. Maddison Wise (Hawke's Bay)

Senior 100cc Yamaha Light
1. James Penrose (North Loburn)
2. Daniel Kinsman (Auckland)
3. Andy Schofield (Cambridge)

Senior 100cc Yamaha Heavy
1. Simon Hunter (Christchurch)
2. Karl Wilson (Wellington)
3. Andrew Donohue (Wellington)

1. Mathew Hamilton (Christchurch)
2. Daniel Bray (Auckland)
3. Chris Cox (Rangiora)


1. Callum Hedge (Bay of Plenty)
2. Jackson Rooney (Manawatu)
3. Thomas Boniface (Taranaki)

Junior Restricted 100cc Yamaha
1. Caleb Cross (Rangiora)
2. Kaleb Ngatoa (Manawatu)
3. Reece Hendl-Cox (Hamilton)

Class title winners on the final day of competition at this year's GoPro KartSport New Zealand National Sprint Championship meeting in Wellington on Sunday were Daniel Bray (# 1, Open), Daniel Kinsman (#31, 125cc Rotax Max Light), Zach Zaloum (#3, 125cc Rotax Max Heavy) and Taylor Harte (#4, KF3). Photo credit: Fast Company/Leith Robertson.

Prepared by FAST COMPANY on behalf of KartSport New Zealand. To find out more about Kartsport in New Zealand contact Ross MacKay on 021 677 919 or via e-mail on ross@fastcompany.co.nz













KartSport New Zealand