NZ Max Challenge logo.jpg




Aucklander karters Daniel Bray and Daniel Connor, and Fraser Hart from Palmerston North, claimed the three remaining15RotaxGrandFinalsteamlr.jpg.jpg seats on this year's New Zealand Rotax Max Grand Final squad to Portugal in November at the final  round of the 2015 Logitech Rotax Max Challenge in Hamilton on Sunday.  

Two drivers - Aucklander Ryan Urban and Dylan Drysdale from Palmerston North - had earned their places (in the DD2 Masters and Junior Max classes respectively) at the penultimate round in Auckland last month but the other three (for the winners of the 125cc Rotax Max and DD2 classes, and the runner-up in DD2 Masters) literally went down to the wire.

In DD2 in fact, Daniel Bray won the Final but still ended up tied on 426 points with multi-time New Zealand Grand Final rep Daniel Kinsman, the nod only finally going Bray's way on countback. 

Showing just how close it was in the end, the next two places in that class also had to be decided by countback, Mason15RotaxMaxChallRnd6HamlDD2DanielBray-1.jpg Armstrong from Auckland and Jonathan Buxeda from Tuakau third and fourth respectively after both ending the season on 411 points

The Rotax category's 16th annual Grand Final meeting is being held this year at the Kartodromo Internacional Algarve kart track at Portimao in Portugal between November 8 and 14

New Zealand has sent teams to all 15 previous Grand Finals with a teenaged Earl Bamber finishing third in the Junior Rotax class at Lanzarote in 2004, and third for Matthew Hamilton in DD2 and second for Josh Hart in 125cc Rotax Max Light in Italy in 2010.

The final round of the six-round Logitech challenge series was held in fine but cool weather at KartSport Hamilton's Agrisea NZ Raceway opposite the city's international airport on Saturday and Sunday, with all eyes on the DD2 and 125cc Rotax Max Light classes.

Though Daniel Connor has clawed his way back into Grand Final contention after a battery issue put him on the back foot at the opening 2015 series round he still needed a pair of seventh place finishes in the 125cc Light Pre Final and Final to beat Rotax category specialist Josh Hart and young gun Andy Schofield.15RotaxMaxChallRnd6HamlMaxLightDanielConnorlr-1.jpg

Tuning issues meant it was not a foregone conclusion early on but after finishing fifth in the Pre-Final all the young Muriwai resident had to do was finish within nine places behind Hart in the Final.

Hart started strongly but had engine issues, his race ending in the pits while Connor worked his way up to third - behind Mathew Kinsman and Andy Schofield - to seal victory in the class and claim his place on the Grand Final squad.

DD2 was even closer with the two Daniels, Bray and Kinsman, locked in a title fight, and Mason Armstrong and Nick Buxeda also with outside chances of an upset should the leading two strike trouble.

Also in the mix, after joining in from the third round was Josh Hart (the only driver running two classes this year) the15RotaxMaxChallRnd6HamlDD2ScottHoward-1.jpg Palmerston North veteran winning the Pre-Final from Bray and Kinsman. In doing so, even if Bray won the Final from Kinsman the pair would tie on points…which is exactly what happened, the result going Bray's way on countback.

As it turned out Hart was also forced out of the DD2 Final (this time with an axle issue) but brother Fraser made up for any disappointment by claiming second place in the DD2 Masters class and with it the final vacant seat on the New Zealand Grand Final squad.

Former NZ reps Niki Urwin, Tiffany Chittenden and Aarron Cunningham were all in with a chance but Fraser Hart had done enough by winning the Pre-Final to guarantee himself the spot, so he sat out the Final, a race won by Australian series regular Scott Howard from Stuart Marshall and Niki Urwin. 
With the title - and Grand Final seat - already his, Dylan Drysdale elected to sit out the final NZ series round, allowing someone else to step up. At Hamilton that was Reece Hendl-Cox from the Bay of Plenty. 

Auckland round winner Matthew Payne from Pukekohe and reigning class NZ sprint champion Jacob Cranston were also in the frame but Payne suffered a broken throttle cable on the eighth lap of the Final, leaving Hendl-Cox to take a breakthrough win from Jacob Cranston, KartSport Manawatu clubmate Kaleb Ngatoa and top female driver Rianna O'Meara-Hunt from Wellington. 

CAPTIONS: On their way to the Rotax Max category Grand Final in Portugal in November are (driver shot from l to r) Fraser Hart, Daniel Bray, Ryan Urban, Dylan Drysdale and Daniel Connor. On track the action involved Daniel Bray (pictured# 62 leading Josh Hart), Daniel Connor (#96), Scott Howard (#39 DD2 Masters Final winner) and Reece Hendl-Cox (# 23 Junior Max Final and round winner). Photo credit: Fast Company/Graham Hughes 
2015 New Zealand Rotax Max Challenge Rnd 6 (final) Agrisea NZ Raceway Hamilton Sat-Sun September 12-13 2015

125cc Rotax Max Light 
1. Mathew Kinsman 13:40.871; 2. Andy Schofield +01.166; 3. Daniel Connor +03.960; 4. Rhys Tinney +05.772; 5. Campbell Joyes +05.922; 6. Tom van Kan +16.989
Series points
1. Daniel Connor 437 points; 2. Andy Schofield 425; 3. Mathew Kinsman 423; 4. Josh Hart 421; 5. Rhys Tinney 396; 6. Caleb Huston 388

1. Daniel Bray 14:09.481; 2. Daniel Kinsman +03.469; 3.+ Mason Armstrong +06.095; 4. Taylor Harte +06.154; 5. Jonathan Buxeda +12.976; 6. Aaron Woolley +16.114
Series points
1. Daniel Bray 426 points; 2. Daniel Kinsman 426; 3. Mason Armstrong 411; 4. Jonathan Buxeda 411; 5. Bradley Hicks 392; 6. Chelsea Herbert 367

DD2 Masters 
1. Scott Howard 14:20.654; 2. Stuart Marshall +04.452; 3. Callum Orr +04.710; 4. Tiffany Chittenden +12.129; 5. Niki Urwin +14.778; 6. Matthew Grant +15.988
Series points
1. Ryan Urban 453 points; 2. Fraser Hart 420; 3. Tiffany Chittenden 405; 4. Niki Urwin 402; 5. Aarron Cunningham 397; 6. Callum Orr 390

Junior Max
1. Reece Hendl-Cox 14:01.285; 2. Jacob Cranston +02.389; 3. Kaleb Ngatoa 02.518; 4. Rianna O'Meara-Hunt +05.129; 5. Sam Wright 0+5.724; 6. Ashton Grant +05.918
Series points
1. Dylan Drysdale 448 points; 2. Jacob Cranston 421; 3. Reece Hendl-Cox 411; 4. Matthew Payne 410; 5. Kaleb Ngatoa 382; 6. Rianna O'Meara-Hunt 382


Rnd 1: Sat- Sun Jan 31-Feb 01 The Rock FM Raceway Rotorua
Rnd 2: Sat-Sun Feb 14-15 Chemz Raceway Hastings
Rnd 3: Sat-Sun May 09-10 Holsters TradeZone Raceway Tokoroa
Rnd 4: Sat-Sun Jun 13-14 Te Puke Auto Electric Raceway Te Puke
Rnd 5: Sat-Sun Aug 15-16 Strata Networks Raceway Auckland
Rnd 6: Sat-Sun Sept 12-13 AgriSea Raceway Hamilton

Prepared by FAST COMPANY on behalf of KartSport New Zealand. To find out more about the 2015 Logitech New Zealand Rotax Max Challenge contact Ross MacKay on 021 677 919 or via e-mail at



KartSport New Zealand