Molecule Keep it Clean Logo on Black JPG.jpg

prokart on black300wide.jpg



Kiwi karting international Daniel Bray got his 2018 Molecule ProKart Series campaign off to the best possible start at the opening round at the annual TRC Toyota Levin Trans-Tasman kart race meeting in Palmerston North over the weekend.18MoleculeProKartKZ2DanielBraylr62-1 (002).jpg

Aucklander Bray was at his dominant best in the premier Lascom Motorsport KZ2 class, qualifying quickest before winning the three heat races, and both the Pre-Final and Final very much as he liked.

Along the way he also set a new class lap record of 41.422 round the 0.9330km Manawatu Toyota track at the KartSport Manawatu club’s Shirriffs Rd facility.

He didn't quite have it all his own way, sharing fastest race laps with local young gun Jacob Cranston (who finished second in the final heat) and top female driver Madeline Stewart from Wellington. Bray was always in front, however, when it counted.

"I didn't really help myself by trying some different axle/hub/wheel combinations in the second and third heat races which hurt my rear tyres and made both the Pre-Final and Final harder than they had to be but overall as  a weekend I can't really complain,” he said. 18MoleculeProKartKZ2MastersSteveBrownlr8-1 (002).jpg

Nor could Jacob Cranston in his Molecule ProKart Series debut. He qualified sixth and after fifths and a dnf in the heats finished fifth in the Pre-Final but a weekend-best second in the final heat.

Madeline Stewart was the other youngster to impress, qualifying second quickest and running second only to Bray in two of the three heats and the Pre-Final before slipping back to fourth - despite setting the fastest race lap - in the final race.

"I was really happy with qualifying second quickest but struggled all weekend with my starts, with the worst one, unfortunately, in the final," she said. "That aside, “ she added, “I am really enjoying being able to race back in New Zealand with the Sodi Kart squad and Mat Kinsman from Sodi has been really helpful. The competition at the front against Daniel, Mat and Ryan Grant is really good too and even after just one round I have learned a lot."

There was something of a changing of the guard, meanwhile in the Lascom Motorsport KZ4 (nee KZ2 Restricted) class as18MoleculeProKartKZ4ReganHalllr93-1 (002).jpg Regan Hall took over the ‘driver-to-beat' mantle from long time class standard-setter Garry Cullum.

Hall, from Auckland, was absolutely relentless, upping the bar with a perfect - pole then heat, Pre-Final and Final - winning run. Wellington pair Jamie Pollock and series newcomer Julian Osborne were up for the chase but ended up splitting the minor money from defending title holder Garry Cullum and class stalwart Gerhard Benadie.

Series promotor Steve Brown, meanwhile, was the fastest qualifier and Lascom Motorsport KZ2 Masters class winner, with series returnee Kevin Storr, class and series newcomer Nick Isaac and Tim Loughran battling it out over the two days for second, third and fourth spots.

CAPTIONS: Molecule ProKart Series class winners at the opening round in Palmerston North over the weekend were Daniel Bray (KZ2 #62), Steve Brown (KZ2 Masters #8) and Regan Hall (KZ4 #93). Madeline Stewart (KZ2 #82) qualified second and finished the Final Lascom Motorsport KZ2 class race in fourth place. Photo credit: Fast Company/Graham Hughes



KZ218MoleculeProKartKZ2MadelineStewartlr82-1 (002).jpg
1. Daniel Bray; 2. Madeline Stewart; 3. Ryan Grant; 4. Mat Kinsman; 5. Jacob Cranston; 6. Daniel Bugler
1. Daniel Bray 92 points; 2. Madeline Stewart 88; 3. Ryan Grant 86; 4. Mat Kinsman 85; 5. Jacob Cranston 84; 6. Daniel Bugler 83.

KZ2 Masters
1. Steve Brown; 2. Kevin Storr; 3. Nick Isaac; 4. Enrico van der Griend; 5. Tim Loughran; 6=. Andrew Hunt, Darren Maguire.
1. Steve Brown 92 points; 3. Kevin Storr 88; 3. Nick Isaac 86; 4. Enrico van der Griend 85; 5. Tim Loughran 84; 6=/Andrew Hunt, Darren Maguire 83.

1. Regan Hall; 2. Julian Osborne; 3=.Jamie Pollock, Gerhard Benadie, Garry Cullum; 6.  Brendan Benadie.
1. Regan Hall 92 points; 2. Julian Osborne 88, 3=. Jamie Pollock, Gerhard Benadie, Garry Cullum 86; 6. Brendan Benadie 83. 


CALENDAR 2018 Molecule ProKart Series

Rnd 1: Manawatu Toyota Raceway, Palmerston North Sat-Sun Feb 17-18
Rnd 2: Stihl Shop Tokoroa Raceway, Tokoroa Sat-Sun April 21-22
Rnd 3: Century Batteries International Raceway, Rotorua Sat-Sun May 19-20
Rnd 4: Te Puke Auto Electrical Raceway Te Puke Sat-Sun Aug 04-05
Rnd 5: Agrisea Raceway Hamilton Sat-Sun Sept 22-23


Prepared by FAST COMPANY on behalf of KartSport New Zealand. To find out more about the 2018 Molecule ProKart series contact Ross MacKay on 021 677 919 or via e-mail at

KartSport New Zealand