2017 NZ Superkart.jpg



Can anyone beat the new 'King' of Superkart racing in this country, Ryan Urban?16SuperKartNatsIn90RyanUrbanlr-3.jpg

That's the question being asked in the lead-up to the 2017 KartSport New Zealand SuperKart Championship and Grand Prix meeting at Hampton Downs this weekend.

Aucklander Urban - an internationally successful multi-time New Zealand Sprint as well as SuperKart champion - dominated last year's SuperKart Nationals meeting at Hampton Downs, making light of streaming wet weather and track conditions to claim the premier International class crown as well as the standalone Open Grand Prix race at the 2016 KartSport NZ National SuperKart Championship and Grand Prix meeting. 

Since then he has continued to develop his FPE-engined Anderson Maverick kart and has lapped the 2.8km national circuit at the venue in just over 61 seconds, 

Competition is expected to come from Aucklanders Martijn Weiss and Andrew Hall, category stalwart and former champ16SuperKartNatsRotaxH3LoganBoydelr-1.jpg Paul Dunlop from Clydevale (near Balclutha), and Teddy Bassick from Taupo.

Supplementing the purpose-built 'lay-down' 250cc SuperKart entries in the International  class will be seven drivers competing for KZ2 honours. They will be using lightly modified 'sit-up-style' KZ2 class sprint karts powered by purpose-built 6-speed gearbox-equipped 125cc engines.

Drivers to look out for in the KZ2 category include Logan Boyde from Taranaki and Daryl Currie from the Manawatu.

Boyde will be the busiest driver at the meeting, having also decided to defend his 2016 Rotax Max Light class title. The two Rotax Max weight divisions have again attracted a good level of interest with the Auckland drivers Jason Butterworth and Keith Wilkinson expected to take the battle to Boyde in the Lights, and Caleb Hartley set to take over from last year's class winner, Teddy Bassick, in Heavies.

Class winners at the 2016 KartSport NZ New Zealand SuperKart Championship meeting at Hampton Downs last year included Ryan Urban (#90), Logan Boyde (#3) and Teddy Bassick (#96). Photo credit: Fast Company/Matt Smith


Prepared by FAST COMPANY on behalf of KartSport New Zealand. To find out more about the 2017 KartSport New Zealand National SuperKart Championship and Grand Prix event contact Ross MacKay on 021 677 919 or via e-mail at ross@fastcompany.co.nz

KartSport New Zealand