Sievwright logo2.jpg

2017 NZ Sprint.jpg



Changeable weather and track conditions produced some surprise results on qualifying day at the Sievwright Blasting Panel Paint KartSport New Zealand National Sprint Championships meeting in Invercargill today.17SKSNZNatSprintchampsQualJnrYamWilliamExtonPictonds-1.jpg

Local teenager Kyle Dawson was the toast of his KartSport Southland clubmates as a canny tyre choice - slicks on a damp but drying track - saw him fastest in the second 125cc Rotax Max Light class Time Trial by almost half a second, giving him pole for tomorrow's heat races over fellow southerners (who were also on slick tyres) Jarred Cleghorn and Scott Glenn.

Defending NZ title holder in the class, Mathew Kinsman of Auckland had been comfortably quicker on wet tyres in the first Time Trial, but could only manage seventh quickest time on his wet tyres on the drying track in the second one.

The Kinsman brothers had a better run with tyre choice in the Senior 100cc Yamaha class, with the younger of the two, Daniel, pipping Mathew for quickest time over Invercargill's George Keast and Aaron Marr from Wanganui.

Another surprise today was the speed shown by young Auckland driver Zeal Jones in Vortex Mini ROK, fourth quickest in the first class Time Trial but comfortably quickest to earn pole for tomorrow's Vortex Mini ROK heats in the second.17SKSNZNatSprintchampsQualVortexMiniROKZealJonesds-1.jpg

In the other classes being contested on Saturday, William Exton from Picton will start from pole after pipping Wellington's Ryan Wood for fastest qualifying time in 100cc Yamaha Junior, while Mathew Butchart from Nelson will be the pole man in 125cc Rotax Max Heavy after edging out Ryan Urban from Auckland.

In the other classes Matthew Hamilton from Christchurch qualified comfortably quickest in Open, Aucklander Daniel Bray just pipped a busy Mathew Kinsman for pole in Rotax DD2, Callum Hedge edged out Ryan Wood for quickest time in Junior Rotax, and reigning class South Island champ Louis Sharp from Christchurch set the fastest time in Cadet ROK from Emerson Vincent from Pukekohe and Tom Bewley from the Hawke's Bay.

The Invercargill Oil Shop Kart Raceway opened on Wednesday for testing with qualifying today and racing tomorrow and Sunday.

The first class titles -  Vortex Mini ROK, 100cc Yamaha Junior, 125cc Rotax Max Light and 125cc Rotax Max Heavy - will be contested tomorrow, the remaining ones - Cadet ROK, 125cc Rotax Max Junior, Open, 100cc Yamaha Senior, and Rotax DD2 - on Sunday.


1. Matthew Hamilton 30.983
2. Mark Elder 31.715  
3. Jacob Cranston 31.715        
4. Chris Cox 31.843    
5. Brendon Gridley 32.014    
6. Aaron Marr 32.079 

Rotax DD2
1. Daniel Bray 32.620
2. Mathew Kinsman 32.637    
3. CJ Sinclair 32.780  
4. Ryan Urban 32.848
5. Sam Waddell 32.898          
6. Ryan Yardley 32.900          

125cc Rotax Max Light
1. Kyle Dawson 35.007          
2. Jarred Cleghorn 35.532      
3. Scott Glenn 36.399
4. Dylan Drysdale 36.479      
5. James Higgins 36.710
6. Daniel Kinsman 36.858

125cc Rotax Max Heavy
1. Matthew Butchart 39.748
2. Ryan Urban 39.765
3. Ashley Higgins 39.903
4. Aaron Black 39.974
5. Scott Waters 40.688
6. Ralph Godwin 40.728        

100cc Yamaha
1. Daniel Kinsman 35.017
2. Mathew Kinsman 35.161    
3. George Keast 35.728          
4. Aaron Marr 36.226
5. Adam Geary 36.227          
6. Ayden Polaschek 36.535

125cc Rotax Max Junior
1. Callum Hedge 33.177
2. Ryan Wood 33.271
3. Jaden Ransley 33.295
4. Ashton Grant 33.363
5. Ryan Crombie 33.383
6. Joshua Parkinson 33.461

Junior 100cc Yamaha
1. William Exton 34.950        
2. Ryan Wood 35.356
3. Joshua Parkinson 35.426
4. Callum Hedge 35.493
5. Jacob Mitchell 35.626
6. Logan Thompson 36.711    

Vortex Mini ROK
1. Zeal Jones 40.881
2. Hayden Bakkerus 41.291
3. Asten Addy 41.365
4. Reef Jolly 41.384
5. Kaden Probst 41.457
6. Jacob Douglas 41.514         

Cadet ROK
1. Louis Sharp 36.879
2. Emerson Vincent 36.966
3. Tom Bewley 37.039
4. James Black 37.100
5. Sebastian Manson 37.195
6. Ashton Phipps 37.218         

CAPTION: Fastest class qualifiers in Invercargill today included Louis Sharp, Zeal Jones and William Exton. Photo credit: Fast Company/Richard Dimmock.

For those who can’t make it to the track the meeting will be live streamed over the internet, courtesy of the Giltrap Group, at

Giltrap Group High Res JPEG RGB-01.jpg

Spectators are welcome with action on the track each day between 9.00am and 4.30pm. Admission is free.

For more information go to


Prepared by FAST COMPANY on behalf of KartSport New Zealand. To find out more about KartSport in New Zealand contact Ross MacKay on 021 677 919 or via e-mail on





KartSport New Zealand