wpkachamps2015 logo.jpg



Palmerston North teenager Jacob Cranston signed off a winning Bayley's WPKA season with a double class win at the stand-alone WPKA Championships meeting in Wellington on Sunday.1415BayleysGoldstarChampmeetingWgtnFormulaJuniorJacobCranstonNZleadsTomGreig31andJoshDonohue49lr (2).jpg

The 14-year-old claimed the Goldstar Series' Formula Junior title at the final round in Hawke's Bay at the beginning of May and went one better by winning both the Formula Junior and Junior 100cc Yamaha titles as well as the Junior Grand Prix race at the WPKA Championships. Second and third respectively in the Formula Junior class at the meeting were KartSport Manawatu clubmates Kaleb Ngatoa and Tom Greig. Second in 100cc Junior Yamaha was Ethan Hourigan from Wellington, third Bayley Walker from the Manawatu.

Cranston was the only double class winner at the meeting, but Goldstar Series class winner Ryan Wood continued his own winning run in the Vortex Mini ROK class, the young Wellington driver leading home Palmerston North  pair Riley Jack and Jackson Rooney for the round win and Rooney and Jack in the class Grand Prix. 1415BayleysGoldstarChampmeetingWgtnVortexMniROKRyanWooodNSleadsJacksonRooney30lr-1 (2).jpg

In the Senior classes contested at the meeting, top Auckland driver Daniel Kinsman won 125cc Rotax Max Light from John Wallace and series' class winner Brad Still, while Palmerston North driver Daryl Currie won Open from Karl Cameron and the Open Grand Prix race from Ashleigh Stewart, and Simon Frater from the Hawke's Bay won ClubSport 120.

Victory in the other Junior class, Cadet ROK, went to Jenson Bate from Palmerston North but young Hawke's Bay driver Harry Bewley won the class Grand Prix.

It was a good day for Bewley's club KartSport Hawke's Bay, which won the Club Points Trophy as well as the Phil Davy Memorial Trophy - the latter 'for the person or group best demonstrating the 'Spirit of Goldstar.'
1415BayleysGoldstarChampmeetingWgtnJensonBates7leadsLoganSmith42andLoganManson16lr-1 (2).jpg
Karters from all over the country joined Wellington Provincial Karting Association (WPKA) clubs this season so that they could contest the Bayley's backed Goldstar Series and WPKA Championships, with events regularly attracting over 100 entrants.

2015 Bayleys WPKA Championships, Wynns Kaitoke Raceway Upper Hutt Wellington Sun May 31 2015

125cc Rotax Max Light
1. Daniel Kinsman, 2. John Wallace; 3. Brad Still (first Master. Brent Melhop)

Open class
1. Daryl Currie; 2. Karl Cameron; 3. Clint Beaumont

ClubSport 120
1. Simon Frater; 2. Brent Hickmott; 3. Brenden Print          

Formula Junior
1. Jacob Cranston; 2. Kaleb Ngatoa; 3. Tom Greig; 4. Josh Donohue; 5. Maddy Stewart1415BayleysGoldstarChampmeetingWgtnHawkesBaywinningclubawardlr-1.jpg

Junior Yamaha
1. Jacob Cranston; 2. Ethan Hourigan; 3. Bayley Walker; 4. Ronan Murphy; 5. Robbie Johnson

Vortex Mini ROK
1. Ryan Wood; 2. Riley Jack; 3. Jackson Rooney; 4. Ethan Donohue; 5. Jamie Van Den Berk

Cadet ROK;        
1. Jenson Bate; 2. Logan Smith; 3. Daniel Austin; 4. Tom Bewley; 5. Ben Stewart

Senior GP
1. Daryl Currie; 2. Ashleigh Stewart; 3. James Higgins.

Junior GP
1. Jacob Cranston; 2. Kaleb Ngatoa; 3. Maddy Stewart;  (first Yamaha home)  Ronan Murphy

Vortex Mini ROK GP
1. Ryan Wood ; 2. Jackson Rooney; 3. Riley Jack

Cadet ROK GP
1. Harry Bewley; 2. Jenson Bate; 3. Daniel Austin

Double class winner Jacob Cranston (#NZ) is seen here leading Tom Greig and Josh Donohue in one of the Formula Junior class races. Vortex Mini ROK class action as Ryan Wood (#NS) leads Jackson Rooney (#16). In the Cadet ROK class, Jenson Bate (#7) from Palmerston North, leads Logan Smith (#42) and Logan Manson (#16). Members of the winning club, KartSport Hawke's Bay, celebrate their success. Photo credit: Fast Company/Vicky Jack.

Prepared by FAST COMPANY on behalf of KartSport New Zealand. To find out more about KartSport in New Zealand contact Ross MacKay on 021 677 919 or via e-mail at ross@fastcompany.co.nz






KartSport New Zealand