Mwtu ToyotaTRC CHROME BOTH 2015a.jpg

WPKA champs_nodates.jpg



Top local driver Jacob Cranston signed off what has to be his most successful Wellington Provincial Karting AssociationOpen-Jacob Cranston (lr1) (002).jpg (WPKA) Goldstar Series season yet with another clean sweep of the Open class races at the annual ‘Championships’ meeting at Palmerston North on Sunday.

As he has all season Cranston dominated the Open class, winning all five heat races as well as the final Open GP race.

Adam Bell from the Bay of Plenty also won all five heat races as well as the class GP title in his class, Rotax Max Heavy, while youngster Judd Christiansen won four of his five heats to top score in Cadet ROK, but finished second in the class Grand Prix which was won by Hugo Neale from the Hawke’s Bay.

The meeting attracted 85 entries from as far afield as Auckland.

Other class winners on the day were Rianna O’Meara-Hunt from Wellington (Rotax Max Light), Brendon Print fromClubsport-Brendon Print (lr52) (002).jpg Palmertson North (ClubSport 120), Brent Melhop from Wellington (Briggs LO206), Jackson Rooney from Palmerston North (Rotax Max Junior), Ryan Wood from Wellington (DVS Junior) and Logan Manson from Levin (Vortex Mini ROK).

Rooney (Junior) and Print (ClubSport/Briggs) also won their class GP races, with the other class GPs going to Hayden Bakkerus from Auckland (Vortex Mini ROK GP) and Hugo Neale (Cadet ROK GP) 

Interest in the new Vortex ROK DVS Junior class has blossomed since its debut at the final round of the 2017/18 Manawatu and TRC Toyota WPKA Goldstar Series at Hawkes Bay in May with six on track at the Champioships meeting on Sunday. There was good racing amongst the six with heat race wins shared by eventual class winner Ryan Wood, runner-up Joshua Parkinson (two each) and Ben Stewart from Wellington (one) who was third.

Vortex Mini ROK class winner Logan Manson from Levin also claimed class honours in the ROK Cup NZ series title chaseRotax Max Jnr-Jackson Rooney (lr30) (002).jpg (the meeting hosted the third and four rounds) from Hugo Neale and Jay Urwin. Judd Christiansen did the same in Cadet ROK, claiming top round honours from Hayden Bakkerus and Mitchell Sparrow.

The WPKA Inter-Cup Trophy was won by KartSport Manawatu and Brent Melhop, who has been racing non stop since 1990 and who is very involved with the administration of the sport, was presented with the Phil Davy Memorial “Spirit of Goldstar” Cup.

CAPTIONS: Class winners at the WPKA Championships round at Palmerston North on Sunday included Jacob Cranston (Open #1) Brendon Print (ClubSport 120 #52), Jackson Rooney (Rotax Junior #30), Ryan Wood (DVS Junior #4), Logan Manson (Vortex Mini ROK #RC) and Judd Christiansen (Cadet ROK #25). Photo credit: Fast Company/Vicky Jack.


2017/18 Manawatu & TRC Toyota WPKA Goldstar Series WPKA Championships Manawatu Toyota Raceway Shirriffs Rd Palmerston North Sun June 03 2018


OpenDVS Jnr-RyanWood (lr4) (002).jpg
1. Jacob Cranston 4; 2. Daniel Rine 8; 3. Ashley Higgins 12; 4. Chris Simmonds 13; 5. Brendon King 19

125cc Rotax Max Heavy
1. Adam Bell 4; 2. Simon Wilcox 9

125cc Rotax Max Light
1. Rianna O'Meara-Hunt 7; 2. Michael McCulloch 7 ; 3. Zach Zaloum 10; 4. James Higgins 11; 5. Jackson Whitfield 20; 6. Ashley Higgins 21 

Briggs L0206
1. Brent Melhop 6; 2. Hadleigh Coffey 8; 3. Shaun Croskery 12; 4. Shane Sayer    12; 5. Glen Dodd 18            

ClubSport 120
1. Brendon Print 8; 2. Brent Hickmott 9; 3. Nathan Nolly 11; 4. Stephen Palmer 11; 5. Derek Lawrence 216. Wayne Clarke 23        

Vortex Mini ROKVMROK-Logan Manson (lrRC) (002).jpg
1. Logan Manson 8; 2. Hayden Bakkerus 9; 3. Mitchell Sparrow 11; 4. Jenson Bate 12; 5. Kiahn Burt 20; 6. Tom Bewley 20          

125cc Rotax Max Junior
1. Jackson Rooney 5; 2. Bradley Hewson 11; 3. Riley Spargo 12; 4. Liam Sceats 14; 5. Riley Jack 16;  6. Leo Scott 18       

Vortex ROK DVS Junior
1. Ryan Wood 6; 2. Joshua Parkinson 7; 3. Ben Stewart 8; 4. William Chronis 16; 5. Luke Thompson 19; 6. Harry Bewley 21

Cadet ROK
1. Judd Christiansen 4 ; 2. Blake Dowdall 9; 3. Hugo Neale  11; 4. Logan Dowdall 15; 5. Blake Corin 16; 6. Jay Urwin 18 

Open GP
1. Jacob Cranston; 2. Rianna O'Meara-Hunt; 3. Ashley Higgins; 4.  Jackson Whitfield; 5. Michael McCulloch; 6.  Brendon King        

ClubSport/Briggs GP
1.  Brendon Print; 2. Stephen Palmer  3. Derek Lawrence; 4. Nathan Nolly  5. Chris Parkinson; 6. Brent HickmottCadetRok-JuddChristensen (lr25) (002).jpg         

Junior GP
1. Jackson Rooney; 2. Joshua Parkinson; 3. Oliver Hourigan; 4. Jesse Free 5. Jamie Van den Berk; 6. 47. Leo Scott          

Vortex Mini ROK GP
1. Hayden Bakkerus; 2. Tom Bewley; 3. Jenson Bate; 4. Mitchell Sparrow; 5. Ryan Bell; 6. Logan Manson

Cadet ROK GP
1. Hugo Neale; 2. Judd Christiansen; 3. Blake Corin; 4. Blake Dowdall; 5. Ethan Church; 6. Kerr Botha.         

ROK Cup NZ Rnd 3 Results

Cadet ROK
1. Judd Christiansen 50 points; 2. Hugo Neal 47; 3. Jay Urwin 45

Vortex Mini ROK
1. Logan Manson 50 points; 2. Hayden Bakkerus 47; 3. Mitchell Sparrow 45; 4. Tom Bewley 44; 5. Mason Potter 43; 6. Stella Carter 42


2016/17 Manawatu & TRC Toyota WPKA Goldstar Series
Rnd 1 Nov 19 2017 Todd Energy Raceway, Waitara, Taranaki
Rnd 2 March 04 2018 George Refrigeration & Air Conditioning Raceway, Kaitoke, Wellington
Rnd 3 May 06 2018 Chemz Raceway, Roy's Hill Hastings Hawke's Bay 
WPKA Championships June 03 2018 Manawatu Toyota Raceway, Palmerston North, Manawatu



Prepared by FAST COMPANY on behalf of KartSport New Zealand. To find out more about KartSport in New Zealand contact Ross MacKay on 021 677 919 or via e-mail at

KartSport New Zealand