CRCSS Top Half Series logo (2).jpg



The rolling roadshow that is the 2014 CRC SpeedShow Top Half (kart) Series rolls into the tiny Eastern Bay of Plenty town of Edgecumbe this weekend.14TopHalfRnd2HamLightsMHarrisCJoyesCGreen (2).jpg


With over 120 entries at each previous round the popular annual series - which pits club against club as well as driver against driver - is a big deal on the local kart scene, no more so than for a club like KartSport Eastern Bay of Plenty, one of the smallest in the country.


Small in numbers it might be but the club has a big collective heart, having recently upgraded its track and with members particularly strong in the 120 ClubSport class where after two of the four rounds Graham Knight leads Steve Muggeridge and Keith Rawlinson.


In the other classes Auckland's KartSport Mt Wellington club is looking good with members leading the points standings in four classes, Liam Lawson in Junior Restricted 100cc Yamaha, Ben Morrison in Vortex Mini ROK, James Blair in 125cc Rotax Max Light and CJ Sinclair in Open.


CRC Speedshow is New Zealand's premier automotive and motorsport expo which this year will be held at Auckland's ASB Showgrounds over the July 19-20 weekend. More information on this year's CRC Speedshow Top Half series can be found on KartSport New Zealand's website and Facebook page 



2014 CRC Speedshow  Top Half Kart Series 14TopHalfRnd2HamOpenRyanUrbanCJSinclair-1 (2).jpg

Points after Rnd 2 of 4

Cadet Raket

1. Connor Davison (Ham) 348; 2. Fynn Osborne (Ham) 343;  3. Billy Frazer (MtW) 341; 4. Blake Austin (Rot) 328; 5. Jack Proctor (MtW) 323; 6. Clay Osborne (Ham) 321.


Cadet Rok
1. Cullern Thorby (Rot) 356; 2. Dylan Grant (MtW) 349; 3. Noah Skipps (Wr) 334; 4. Gemma Winters (BoP) 333; 5. Mason Potter (MtW 329); 6. Bradley Ayers (Rot) 316

Junior Restricted 100cc Yamaha
1. Liam Lawson (MtW) 349; 2. Lee Zeltwanger (MtW) 342; 3. Sam Wright (Ham) 333; 4. Rianna O'Meara-Hunt (Rot) 326; 5=. Hunter Cheetham (BoP) 317; 5=. Jaden Ransley (Ak) 317

Vortex Mini ROK
1. Ben Morrison (MtW) 356; 2. Riley Jack (Rot) 349; 3. Heidi Benner (BoP) 341.

Formula Junior
1=. Dylan Smith Rotax (Ak) 341; 1=. Suvarn Naidoo Rotax (Ham) 341; 3. Taylor Harte Rotax (BoP) 338; 4. Bailey Paterson Rotax (Rot) 326; 5. Daniel Talbot Rotax (MtW) 324; 6. Kyle Krissansen Rotax (MtW) 296

Class ClubSport 120
1. Graham Knight (EBoP) 354; 2. Steve Muggeridge (EBoP) 343; 3. Keith Rawlinson (EBoP) 333; 4. Richard Macey (Wr) 331; 5. Steve Carter (Wr) 329; 6. Paul Farmer (Rot) 318


125cc Rotax Max Light
1. James Blair (MtW) 338; 2. Corey Green (BoP) 336; 3. Oscar Grant (MtW) 50 328; 4. Matthew Harris (Rot) 326; 5. Jason Butterworth (MtW) 315; 6. Jordan Baldwin (MtW) 50 311


125cc Rotax Max Heavy
1. Bradley Tyrrell (Tok) 349; 2. Caleb Hartley (Tok) 343; 3. Stuart Gould (Rot) 340; 4. Joseph Ganley (Ak) 327; 5. Keith Wilkinson (MtW) 323; 6. Darren Walker (BoP) 50 312


1. CJ Sinclair (MtW) 343; 2. Teddy Bassick (Ham) 315; 3=. Graeme Lambert (Tok) 145; 3=. Luke Dobbs (MtW) 145; 3=. Mark Elder (Ak) 145; 6=. Darren Aislabie (Rot) 142; 6=. Ryan Urban (MtW) 142


Matthew Harris (#88) Campbell Joyes (#95) and Corey Green (#5) battle for 125cc Rotax Max Light class supremacy at the second CRC SpeedShow Top Half Series round at Hamilton  earlier in the month.. Also competing at Hamilton were Ryan Urban (#90) and CJ Sinclair (#25) in the Open class. Photo credit: Fast Company/Emilee Wright.


Rnd 1: Sun Feb 16 The Rock FM Raceway Mamaku Rotorua

Rnd 2: Sun March 09 AgriSea Raceway Hamilton

Rnd 3: Sunday March 30 KartZone Raceway Edgecumbe BoP

Rnd 4: Sunday June 22 Strata Networks Raceway, Rosebank Domain Auckland

Prepared by FAST COMPANY on behalf of KartSport New Zealand. To find out more about the 2014 CRC Speedshow Top Half Series contact Ross MacKay on 021 677 919 or via e-mail at

KartSport New Zealand