And what a shame it was. The headline for the weather news the very next day stated that New Plymouth had had a recordCampbell Caird 27 Ryan Still 53.jpg number of spring time sunshine hours. Believe me, there was ample evidence of that during the scorcher experienced during the Saturday practice. But the rain was threatening all Sunday morning and drivers briefing saw the arrival of a series of splashes which only gained in intensity and soon turned to steady rainfall.

Motorsport is by nature a dangerous past time and kart racing has an element of risk which requires participants to draw on their confidence in each others abilities while competing at close quarters. Congratulations to “Clerk of the Course”, Bruce Cawood for recognizing the difficulty competitors were having seeing and remaining clear of each other while the 4th round of heats were being contested. I have always been of the opinion that racing should continue and competitors need to make the allowances required. But when the Yamaha Light field submarined through the eases at the start of what was to be there final heat I could see we had lost this battle to the elements. The track was closed with 1 round of heats and the Grand Prix’s uncontested so the results posted were formatted with all heats to count.

Several classes at KartSport Taranaki’s Todd Energy Raceway were dominated by individuals. No easy feat considering the conditions and the appearance of 71 entrants. I have heard both sides of the debate over the use of the random grid draw during this series but there is no doubt the cream does rise to the top.Frank May, Junior Restricted..jpg

Jackson Rooney easily led home Thomas Boniface and Tom Grieg in the Cadet class. Callum Hedge, Dylan Frere, Joshua Parkinson and Sam Wright followed closely behind in the field of 18 and will be keen to step up on the podium next time.

Caleb Ngatoa extended his unbroken Gold Star race winning streak in Junior Restricted. Zane Riddick used his local knowledge to finish ahead of Bailey Walker. Who was just in third over Nick Evans and Ryan Jury in the 8 kart field.

Maddie Wise would have shut out the Junior Yamaha class but James Webb got away from him in the 1st heat. Sebastian Bainbridge, Carl McNicol and Travis Day were all tied for 2nd with the results falling in that order following a count back. The 18 entrants ensured there was racing all around the circuit. Poor Ashleigh Stewart got bettered by sister Maddie with a lot of help from lady luck (and the coin toss) after they were both tied with exactly the same results!

Yamaha Light looked like being a local affair. Scott Williams topped the 8 kart field from Ryan Bailey ahead of Brad Still and eventual Yamaha Light winner Scott Williams GS2.jpgLogan Boyd. Patrick Davy wrecked the Taranaki trifecta by holding Brad Still out for 3rd place.

Aaron de Ridder won a closely fought Rotax Light class from new series leader Ben Thom. Ryan Still filled 3rd place on the podium from Jack Bridgeman courtesy of his race 1 win. 10 karts in this field.

Gregory Robinson bettered the 9 entrants in Clubsport 120 from Clint Beaumont and Gary Soper. Derek Lawrence’s 4th was enough to keep him in the series lead in this very even class.

WPKA Gold Star Round 3 is at KartSport Hawkes Bay’s Roys Hill Raceway on March 3rd.
For more information go toBen Thom Rotax Light GOLDSTAR.jpg

Photo Captions:
Rotax Light’s Campbell Caird 27 & Ryan Still 53 in the spray.
Frank May, Junior Restricted.
Ryan Bailey ahead of Brad Still and eventual Yamaha Light winner Scott Williams.
Ben Thom, Rotax Light.
All photos- Sally Bridgeman


Report from Phil Davy, WPKA Media Officer

KartSport New Zealand