KartSport Manawatu hosted the opening round of the 2012-13 season on November 4th at the challenging 930m Manawatu Toyota Raceway with huge competition in all classes.rooney gs1.jpg

WPKA President, Wayne Zaloum said, “The entry of over 70 competitors to face the starter in 6 classes is a very satisfying beginning to our year. The hard work done by the clubs in encouraging their members to participate in this series has paid off. This long running series is the first step after club competition and we look forward to providing a fun experience around the circuits of the lower North Island.

We continue to be grateful for the support of our major sponsor, Maurice Frost and the team at Supreme Kart Supplies. Also returning this year are Right Karts, Napier Collision Repair, Kiwi Karts and Manawatu Toyota who provide spot prizes to our series entrants. And we welcome on board ORG and Refined Concrete & Flooring as class supporters for ClubSport 120 and Yamaha Light respectively.”hart b gs1.jpg

While the weather hadn’t been favorable throughout practice the previous day it all looked good by the time the Cadet class rolled out the gate for the first race of the day. These drivers often provide the closest competition and with a different race winner in each of the five heats this was no exception. Jason Rooney secured the win from Tom Grieg by one point with newly crowned North Island champion Callum Hedge third out of the nineteen that started out.

Wiley fox Brendon Hart won Rotax Max Light (not a typo) from senior newcomer Jack Bridgeman, and Ben Thom third. All were tied on the same points and could only be split when the countback went down to there discarded heat result.

Lunch had been taken following the third heat of the Rotax Max Light class but prior to the eighteen Junior Yamaha entrants getting the day underway again the pitter-patter of rain drops announced the biggest question of the day. How wet will it get? Torrential was the answer, with hail in the mix also. clubsport12 gs1.jpgUnfortunately, some didn’t make it out the gate. Some, on slick tyres, didn’t make the start. It was all very chaotic and I was relieved not to be involved. Maddie Wise dominated the race and the class to win the round. James Webb finished second overall ahead of Matt Podjursky in third.

Henri Ham led home Derek Lawrence and Brent Robinson in ClubSport 120. Another class with five different heat winners and all fourteen entrants looking to secure the good looking race apparel from ORG.

There was huge competition in Junior Restricted also. But Kaleb Ngatoa’s five wins ensured it was all for the minor placings. Bayley Walker was the best of the rest from Rianna Omeara-Hunt, who was tied with Josh Donohue but secured third by countback.ngatoa gs1.jpg

Last years Yamaha Light champion Brad Still carried his form over to easily win the day. Jaden Hardy secured second from Hamish Barret.

Tom Grieg took out the Cadet GP from Thomas Boniface and Sam Wright.

Kaleb Ngatoa won the Junior Restricted GP. Rianna Omeara-Hunt led home Bayley Walker to reverse the results from the earlier class racing.

The Junior Yamaha GP was won by Brendon Jury from a rapidly closing Maddie Wise. Matthew Podjursky was next over the line in third.

The GP excitement was definitely wise gs1.jpgconcentrated around the Senior GP. Dominic Crossman got away to a flyer. He was slowly drawn in and passed by Brendon Hart, who had come from the back of the grid and Ben Thom. These two collided and retired leaving Dominic clear of Aaron Marr (1st Yamaha) and Scott Williams.

WPKA Gold Star Round 2 is at KartSport Taranaki’s Todd Energy Raceway on December 2nd .
For more information go to

    Jackson Rooney led home Tom Grieg and Callum Hedge in Cadets.
    Brendon Hart and Jack Bridgman splashing around in Rotax Max Light.still gs1.jpg
    Michael Bate, David Short and Boyd Norwood, ClubSport 120.
    Kaleb Ngatoa dominated Junior Restricted.
    Maddie Wise, Junior Yamaha.
    Brad Still, Yamaha Light.

Report from Phil Davy, WPKA Media Officer

KartSport New Zealand