prokart on black300wide.jpg




Teammates Ryan Grant and Graeme Smyth look set to renew their battle for KZ2 class honours at the second round of this year's ProKart Series in the Hawke's Bay this weekend.15ProKartRnd1RotKZ2RyanGrantlr-1.jpg


Young gun Smyth mastered difficult wet/dry conditions at the opening series round in Rotorua two weekends ago but after a difficult start multi-time former class champ Grant came back to finish second in the Pre-Final and win the Final.


Smyth brings with him an early lead in in the series points standings from top South Island driver Chris Cox and the first of the class young guns, Aaron Wilson.


Kart and car racer Smyth will also be on a high after making his Bathurst debut (in a Ferrari no less) at the annual 12 Hour endurance race last weekend.


Grant is seventh, but wins over Smyth this weekend could see him accelerate up the standings.


"Whichever way it goes it’s going to be good to watch," says series promotor Steve Brown. "Both drivers are absolutely at the top of their game at the moment."15ProKartRnd1RotKZ2SimonWoolseylr-1.jpg


Local driver Tom Curran, meanwhile, is again the man to beat in the KZ2 Masters (over 40) class with recent class graduate Jared Mackenzie second and Nelson veteran Grant Kugener third after the first round.


Kugener was never far behind Curran in the changeable track conditions at Rotorua and having raced there for years knows the Hastings track as well as the class leader.


The KZ2 Restricted class was also dominated at Rotorua by last year's class title holder, Aucklander Garry Cullum, though impressing with his pace but unlucky not to finish the Final at Rotorua was young gun Connor Adlam who is second in the class points standings heading to the Bay.


Reigning North Island class champion Josh Parkinson from Auckland led home the Vortex Mini ROK junior support class at the opening series round but faces even greater competition this weekend with several drivers from the lower half of the North Island boosting grid numbers to 16.  15ProKartRnd1RotVortexMiniROKRyanWoodlr-1.jpg


An added incentive for the youngsters who complete the full series of racing in the class is that the winner gets the opportunity to compete at the final round of the Australian championships at the end of October,


This year's ProKart Series is again twinned with the New Zealand Rotax Max Challenge, with over 100 karters from as far afield as Dunedin and Whangarei making the trip to Hawke's Bay to compete across the two series.




ProKart Series KZ2 drivers Ryan Grant (#64) and Simon Woolsley (#51). Also Vortex Mini ROK driver Ryan Wood (#NS). Photo credit: Fast Company/Graham Hughes


2015 ProKart Series


Cable Systems KZ2

Series placing after Rnd 1

1. Graeme Smyth; 2. Chris Cox; 3. Aaron Wilson; 4. Rollo Davies; 5. Luke Dobbs; 6. Mitch Brown; 7. Ryan Grant


KZ2 Masters

Series placings after Rnd 1

1. Tom Curran; 2. Jared Mackenzie; 3. Grant Kugener; 4. Mark Wheeler; 5. Steve Brown; 6. Graeme Lambert


KZ2 Restricted

Series placing after Rnd 1

1. Garry Cullum; 2. Connor Adlam; 3. Gerhard Benadie; 4. Shaun Curran


Vortex Mini ROK

Series placings after Rnd 1

1. Josh Parkinson; 2=. Ryan Wood & Billy Frazer; 4. Sam Wright; 5. Connor Davison; 6. Callum Hedge


Rnd 1: Sat- Sun Jan 31-Feb 01 The Rock FM Raceway Rotorua

Rnd 2: Sat-Sun Feb 14-15 Chemz Raceway Hastings

Rnd 3: Sat-Sun May 09-10 Tirau Earthmovers Raceway Tokoroa

Rnd 4: Sat-Sun Jun 13-14 Fagan's Valley Raceway Te Puke

Rnd 5: Sat-Sun Aug 15-16 Strata Networks Raceway Auckland

Rnd 6: Sat-Sun Sept 12-13 AgriSea Raceway Hamilton

Prepared by FAST COMPANY on behalf of KartSport New Zealand. To find out more about the 2015 ProKart Series contact Ross MacKay on 021 677 919 or via e-mail at

KartSport New Zealand