Aucklander Ryan Grant remains the driver to beat in the premier KZ2 class after two rounds of this year's Formula S KartSport ProKart Series.13ProKartRnd2RotKZ2RyanGrantleads-1.jpg

Ryan, the dominant force in the class since the series started in 2009, dominated the opening round of the 2013 series at the big Mi Sedaap CIK Trophy of New Zealand meeting in Wellington in January and he won all but one of the five races at the second round at the KartSport Rotorua International Raceway over the weekend.

Multi-time former New Zealand sprint class champion Matthew Hamilton of Christchurch did beat Grant's teammate Graeme Smyth and Grant to the finish line in the Pre-Final on Sunday. But that was after a minor technical hiccup meant Grant was slow to get off the line and any hopes Hamilton might have had of staying in front of Grant in the Final were dashed when his kart ground to a halt with a broken chain on the first lap.

That left Grant in a lead in the Final he would never lose from Smyth - back in the series after missing the first round - with reigning South Island class champion Chris Cox third and fellow Mainlander Matt Williams fourth. 

Meanwhile, with last year's class winner Tom Curran sitting out this year's series, KZ2 Masters has so far proved the preserve of Club13ProKartRnd2RotKZ2MastersSteveBrown-1.jpg President Steve Brown, who qualified quickest and won all five races at Rotorua, including the new format reverse top six grid third heat.

Appropriately, club Vice President, Snow Mooney, also from Auckland, ended up second in the Final with the Wheeler brothers Todd and Mark impressing with their pace on the high-speed Rotorua circuit third and fourth respectively and Mark Lane fifth.

Young Hawke's Bay driver Mitchell Turner, the defending North Island class champion, qualified quickest and dominated proceedings in the KF3 class, winning the Final from Arran Crighton and Mitch Sanders and only missing out on a clean sweep of race wins when he fouled a spark plug and didn't get to start the first heat.

Logan Brown also had a starting issue in one of the heats  but like Turner recovered to complete the other races, in his case crossing the line in fourth place in the Final in front of class newcomers Thomas Batt and Oscar Drummond. 13ProKartRnd2RotKF3MTurnerleadsACrighton-1.jpg

The weekend's round of the 2013 Formula S KartSport ProKart Series was the second of six with subsequent rounds to be held at Te Puke, Tokoroa, Hawke's Bay and Auckland. 

CAPTIONS: Finals winners at the second round of the 2013 Formula S KartSport ProKart series were Ryan Grant (KZ2), Steve Brown (KZ2 Masters) and Mitchell Turner (KF3). Photo credit: Fast Company/Graham Hughes.

Rnd 1: Jan 26-27 Mi Sedaap CIK Trophy of NZ, KartSport Wellington
Rnd 2: Mar 09-10 Kartsport Rotorua
Rnd 3: April 20-21 Kartsport Bay of Plenty
Rnd 4: May 25-26th Kartsport Tokoroa
Rnd 5: Aug 17-18 Kartsport Hawke's Bay
Rnd 6: Sept 21-22 Kartsport Auckland

 Prepared by FAST COMPANY on behalf of KartSport New Zealand. To find out more about KartSport in New Zealand contact Ross MacKay on 021 677 919 or via e-mail on


KartSport New Zealand