CRCSS Top Half Series logo (2).jpg



Local ace Taylor Harte splashed to a double podium finish at the second round of the 2016 CRC Speedshow-sponsored Top Half kart series at the KartSport Bay of Plenty club's Te Puke Auto Electric Raceway at Te Puke on Sunday.16CRCTopHalfRnd2DD2TaylorHartelr-2 (2).jpg

Despite weather and track conditions which went from dry and slick to streaming wet and slippery, the Tauranga teen won all five heat races to claim a dominant victory in the DD2 class, then in his other kart won two of the five heats to finish a close second to fellow 'Bay driver Corey Green in 125cc Rotax Max Light.

Also impressing was another local karter, Sam Waddell, who finished second to Harte in DD2 and fourth in 125cc Rotax Max Light behind Green, Harte and Rotorua driver Caleb Huston.

Meanwhile, Caleb Hartley from Auckland and Darren Walker from Tauranga battled mightily in 125cc Rotax Max Heavy,  three heat wins to Walker's two giving Hartley the round victory by a single point.16CRCTopHalfRnd2RMLightCoreyGreenlr-2 (2).jpg

Also winning three of the five heats in his class was Graham Knight, who claimed round victory in ClubSport 120 from Steve Muggeridge and Dean Oliver.

In the Junior classes, Joshua Parkinson won Rotax Junior from fellow Aucklander Sam Wright and Fynn Osborne from Hamilton, while Ryan Crombie from Auckland won Vortex Mini ROK from Connor Davison from Hamilton and Blake Austin from Auckland.

Finally, Kaden Probst turned the tables on first round class winner Liam Sceats (both from Auckland) in Cadet ROK with fellow Aucklander Sebastian Manson third. 

This year's CRC Speedshow Top Half series has a prize pool including a minimum of $8,000 in prize money, $6,000 in CRC product giveaways, four sets of MG tyres and a custom-painted Arai SK-6 helmet complete with helmet bag courtesy Arai NZ, Headcase Designs and Lightning Racegear valued at $2000. 16CRCTopHalfRnd2JunRotaxJoshusParkinsonleadsSamWrightlr.jpg-1 (2).jpg

The four-round series now heads to Auckland for the penultimate round in June (Mt Wellington club) and final in July (Auckland club). 

CRC Speedshow is New Zealand's premier automotive and motorsport expo and this year will be held at Auckland's ASB Showgrounds over the July 16-17 weekend. 

More information on this year's CRC Speedshow Top Half series can be found on KartSport New Zealand's website

http://www.kartsport.org.nz/events/2016-top-half-series and Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/TopHalfSeries/

Class sponsors this year are KartZone from Tauranga (Cadet ROK),  Supreme Kart Supplies from New Plymouth (Vortex Mini ROK),  Spartan 4Toyota in Auckland (Rotax Max Junior),  Lascom Motorsport Auckland (125cc Rotax Max Light), Barfoot & Thompson Pukekohe (125cc Rotax Max Heavy), WRB  Karting Supplies Whangarei (Raket 120), and Right Karts Auckland,  (DD2). 16CRCTopHalfRnd2VMROKRyanCrombielr-2 (2).jpg

CAPTIONS: Action from the second round of this year's CRC Speedshow Top Half Series at Te Puke in Sunday with class winners Taylor Harte (DD2#4), Corey Green (125cc Rotax Max Light #5), Joshua Parkinson (#89 Junior Rotax) and Ryan Crombie (Vortex Mini ROK #63). Photo credit: Fast Company/Alice Addy


2016 CRC Speedshow Top Half Series Rnd 2 Te Puke Auto Electric Raceway Fagan's Rd Te Puke Sunday May 29  2016 Results

125cc Rotax Max Light
1. Corey Green 246 points; 2. Taylor Harte 243; 3. Caleb Huston 241; 4. Sam Waddell 236; 5. Dylan Smith 221; 6. Tim Eriksen 210 

1. Taylor Harte 250 points; 2. Sam Waddell 241; 3. Fulton Penny 237; 4. Jason Lee 236; 5. Glenn Ellis 230; 6. Bond Roby 228        

125cc Rotax Max Heavy
1. Caleb Hartley 248 points; 2. Darren Walker 247; 3. Simon Macrae 233; 4. Henry Gelb 232; 5. Ashton Baird 229; 6. Scott Allright 225   

ClubSport 120
1. Graham Knight 248 points; 2. Steve Muggeridge  243; 3. Dean Oliver 238; 4. Mark Rose 236; 5. Richard Macey 227; 6. Stephen Carter 224     

Rotax Junior
1. Joshua Parkinson 237 points; 2. Sam Wright 233; 3. Fynn Osborne; 232; 4. Lee Zeltwanger 231; 5. Joseph Terry 229; 6. Billy Frazer     224      

Vortex Mini ROK  
1. Ryan Crombie 244 points; 2. Connor Davison 239; 3. Blake Austin 230; 4. Jackson Rooney 227; 5. Breanna Morris 223; 6. Riley Spargo 221         

Cadet ROK
1.  Kaden Probst 244  points; 2. Liam Sceats 242; 3. Sebastian Manson 240; 4. Ryan Bell  236; 5. Hayden Bakkerus  232; 6. Ashton Phipps 225

2016 CRC Speedshow Top Half Series

Rnd 1: Sun April 10 Holsters Trade Zone Raceway Tokoroa
Rnd 2: Sun May 29 Te Puke Auto Electric Raceway Te Puke
Rnd 3: Sun June 26 Windward Properties Raceway Mt Wellington, Auckland
2016 CRC Speedshow Sat-Sun July 16-17 ASB Showgrounds Auckland
Rnd 4: Sun July 31 Strata Networks Raceway, Avondale Auckland

Prepared by FAST COMPANY on behalf of KartSport New Zealand. To find out more about the 2016 CRC Speedshow Top Half Series contact Ross MacKay on 021 677 919 or via e-mail at ross@fastcompany.co.nz

KartSport New Zealand