Sievwright logo2.jpg

2017 NZ Sprint.jpg




KartSport Southland and KartSport New Zealand are delighted to announce Sievwright - Blasting Panel Paint as the11KartNatsRotaxheavyLMooreleadsSHunterandPBooth-2 (2) (002).jpg naming rights partner for the 2017 KartSport New Zealand National Sprint Championships meeting to be contested at the Invercargill Oil Shop Raceway at Invercargill's Sandy Point between 14-16 April (Easter weekend).

Invercargill-based Sievwright - Blasting Panel Paint is an experienced auto industry leader, supplying abrasive blasting, panel beating and paint services. The company has particular expertise in heavy haulage and farm equipment including fibreglass work and light engineering. Their motto is: “We get the job done!” 

Company owner John Sievwright says he enjoys all motorsport and was happy to partner with the KartSport Southland club to host the event.

"As  a supporter of stock cars, motorbikes and car racing at Sandy Point the karts were really just the next step. My business is in Southland so I like to get behind the people and clubs here.11KartSportNZNatsCadetMarcusArmstrongleads-1 (002).jpg

"I enjoy going to the events too so I am definitely looking forward to seeing the country's top karters in action here at Easter."

The KartSport Southland club regularly bids for major national meetings and has hosted the annual Sprint Nationals meeting at Easter twice in the past 12 years (2005 & 2011).

In that time the sport has nurtured the fledgling careers of New Zealand's current crop of world-beating drivers.

Included are the winner of the Junior Restricted title at the 2005 Invercargill event, Mitch Evans, now a works-driver for the Jaguar Formula E team, and the winner of the Cadet class title in Invercargill in 2011, recent Ferrari Academy signing, Marcus Armstrong.11KartNatsYamLightsDKinsmanleadsCMcMaster-2 (2) (002).jpg

This year's event will see 10 separate class titles contested, including - for the first time - one for the Rotax DD2 class. The racing on Saturday and Sunday will be livestreamed with the support of the Giltrap Group.

Spectators are welcome with action on the track each day between 9.00am and 4.30pm. For more information go to

Event Facebook Page HERE

CAPTIONS. Karters who won titles when the National Sprint Championships were last held in Invercargill (in 2011) included Lane Moore (#5) from Australia, Marcus Armstrong (#9) from Christchurch and Daniel Kinsman (#NI) from Auckland. Moore and Kinsman will be back this year to contest the 2017 Sievwright - Blasting Panel Paint KartSport NZ National Sprint Championships meeting over the Easter weekend. Photo credit: Fast Company/KartSport NZ file

 Giltrap Group High Res JPEG RGB-01.jpg


Prepared by FAST COMPANY on behalf of KartSport New Zealand. To find out more about KartSport in New Zealand contact Ross MacKay on 021 677 919 or via e-mail on

 CLICK HERE for an Entry Form, Supplementary Rules and Information


KartSport New Zealand