2013 Todd Energy logo.jpg

2016 NZ Schools.jpg




School-age karters from all over New Zealand will be in Taranaki this weekend contesting KartSport New Zealand's National Schools Championship meeting.15SchoolsCadetROKwinner47MasonPotter-1.jpg

The 14th annual event is being sponsored by Todd Energy and hosted by the KartSport Taranaki club and New Plymouth Boys High School and has attracted over 80 entries across five different classes to the club's track, Todd Energy Raceway, at Joll Rd in Waitara. 

The Formula Junior class is oversubscribed with 26 entries and will run to a 6 heat format. Also well supported is Vortex Mini ROK which has a track maximum field of 24 entries.

Each year teams of karters compete for individual and schools' honours.

This year six schools from across the country have entered teams.

In the Secondary Schools section they are Palmerston North Boys' High School, Christ's College from Christchurch and Francis Douglas Memorial College from New Plymouth with two teams each.

In the Primary/Intermediate section Te Mata Primary School from Havelock North in Hawke's Bay, Hokowhitu School and15SchoolsFJunSIAydenPolaschek-2.jpg Ross Intermediate School (from Palmerston North) and Palmerston North Intermediate School have each also entered two teams.

This year the annual schools' event is also hosting the final round of the inaugural ROK Cup New Zealand. 

ROK Cup New Zealand is a multi-round series for young drivers contesting either Vortex ROK-engined class, Cadet ROK (for 6-11 year-olds) or Vortex Mini ROK (for those 9 to 12).

The overall series winner of the Vortex Mini ROK class earns entry to the annual ROK Cup International Finals meeting in Italy later this year, (joining 2016 National Champion Breanna Morris who has already qualified) while the overall series winner in the Cadet ROK class gets a brand new Vortex Mini ROK engine.

Heading into the weekend's event there are only two points in it in both classes. 

William Exton from Picton (147 points) and Jackson Rooney from Palmerston North (145) are locked in a battle for the number one spot in Vortex Mini ROK while Mason Potter from Auckland (143) and Ryan Bell from the Bay of Plenty are the two vying for victory in Cadet ROK.

Should either pair falter there are as many as four other drivers waiting in the wings in each class. 15SchoolsRotaxLIghtwinner9JamesBlair-1.jpg

Top local driver Thomas Boniface and Aucklander Ryan Crombie remain a threat in Vortex Mini ROK, while in Cadet ROK only 9 points separate leader Mason Potter from fifth placed Logan Manson, Auckland, with Louis Sharp from Christchurch and Bo Hill from Nelson in-between.

There will be action on track at Todd Energy Raceway  on both days this weekend with  tuning runs and heats  for Formula Junior and Vortex Mini ROK on Saturday and Cadet ROK, Junior 100cc Yamaha and 125cc Rotax Max Light on Sunday.

CAPTION: Defending Schools' class champion Mason Potter (#47) on his way to Cadet ROK class victory at the 2015 KartSport NZ National Schools' Championship in Dunedin. Other class winners at the Automec Air 2015 KartSport New Zealand National Schools' Championship meeting included Christchurch's Ayden Polaschek (#SI) in Formula Junior, and Cromwell's James Blair (#9) in 125cc Rotax Max Light on Sunday. Photo credit: Fast Company/John Cosgrove




2003 Rangitoto College, Auckland
2004 St Kentigern College, Auckland
2005 Palmerston North Boys High, Palmerston North
2006 Waimea College, Nelson
2007 St Kentigern College, Auckland
2008 St Andrews College, Christchurch
2009 St Andrews College, Christchurch
2010 Palmerston North Boys High, Palmerston North
2011 Auckland Grammar School, Auckland
2012 Palmerston North Boys High, Palmerston North
2013 Burnside High School, Christchurch
2014 Palmerston North Boys High School, Palmerston North
2015  St Thomas of Canterbury College, Christchurch



2003 Rangeview Intermediate, Auckland
2004 Waimea Intermediate, Nelson
2005 Marina View School Auckland
2006 Russley Primary & St Kentigern Intermediate ChCh & Auckland
2007 Albany Primary, Auckland
2008 Waikari School and Kaikorai Valley College, Dunedin
2009 Newbury School, Palmerston North
2010 Taradale Intermediate, Napier
2011 Windsor Primary/Chisnell Wood Intermediate, Christchurch
2012 College Street Normal School Palmerston North
2013 Medbury School, Christchurch
2014 Palmerston North Normal Intermediate/Newbury Primary School, Palmerston North
2015 Balmacewen Intermediate, Dunedin


Prepared by FAST COMPANY on behalf of KartSport New Zealand. To find out more about the Todd Energy 2016 KartSport New Zealand National Schools' Championship contact Ross MacKay on 021 677 919 or via e-mail at ross@fastcompany.co.nz





KartSport New Zealand