automec logo.png


2015 NZ Schools.jpg




Inter-school competition plays a key role in any sport - and KartSport is no different.15SchoolsJunYam11LewisBall-2.jpg

Since the inaugural National Schools' Championship event in Auckland in 2003 students from primary, intermediate and secondary schools across the country have been meeting once a year to compete for school as well as individual honours.

This year Otago's KartSport Dunedin club hosted the Automec Auto-backed 2015 title event at its Silverstream Raceway near Mosgiel over the July 11-12 weekend.

Four schools fielded teams in the Secondary Schools' section (for yrs 9 to 13), two from Christchurch and one each from Dunedin (host school Kings High School) and Invercargill (James Hargest High School).

Each Christchurch school entered four combinations, Christ's based around Formula Junior and 100cc Yamaha class drivers, brothers Jack and Oscar Noble-Adams, and St Thomas of Canterbury's on fellow Juniors Lewis Ball and Jaden Ransley.15SchoolsJunYamJadenRansley-1.jpg

After two days of racing the St Thomas of Canterbury pair of Lewis Ball and Jaden Ransley proved the strongest, winning the Secondary Schools' category for their school with second place finishes in each class.

The Primary and Intermediate section (for yrs 1 to 8) attracted even more schools with six teams - four from Dunedin and surrounding districts and one each from Nelson and Christchurch - fielding teams.

Dunedin's Balmacewen Intermediate was represented by three drivers - Josh Bethune, Alex Patrick and Jack Cayford - across three different classes with Alex Patrick and Josh Bethune the winning pair thanks to a second in Vortex Mini ROK for Alex Patrick and sixth in Formula Junior for Josh Bethune.15SchoolsVMROK51AlexPatrickDn-1.jpg

St Thomas of Canterbury College is the eighth school to claim the Secondary Schools' title, joining three-time winners Palmerston North Boys High, two-time winners St Kentigern from Auckland and St Andrews College from Christchurch, and fellow one-time winners Rangitoto College and Auckland Grammar from Auckland, Waimea College from Nelson, and Burnside High School from Christchurch.

In the Primary/Intermediate category Balmacewen Intermediate is the 13th winner and second Dunedin school to take the top prize.

When KartSport Dunedin previously ran the National Schools' Championship event in 2008 a team from Wakari School and Kaikorai Valley College won the Primary/Intermediate category.15SchoolsJunYamJoshBethune-1.jpg

2015 KartSport NZ National Schools' Championship Secondary Schools category winners Lewis Ball (#11) and Jaden Ransley (#53) representing St Thomas of Canterbury College, and Primary/Intermediate section winners for Dunedin's Balmacewen Intermediate, Alex Patrick (#51) and Josh Bethune (#32) Photo credit: Fast Company/John Cosgrove

The Automec Air 2015 KartSport New Zealand National Schools' Championship hosted by KartSport Dunedin & Kings High School Silverstream Raceway Milners Rd North Taieri Dunedin Sat-Sun July 11-12 2015

2003 Rangitoto College, Auckland
2004 St Kentigern College, Auckland
2005 Palmerston North Boys High, Palmerston North
2006 Waimea College, Nelson
2007 St Kentigern College, Auckland
2008 St Andrews College, Christchurch
2009 St Andrews College, Christchurch
2010 Palmerston North Boys High, Palmerston North
2011 Auckland Grammar School, Auckland
2012 Palmerston North Boys High, Palmerston North
2013 Burnside High School, Christchurch
2014 Palmerston North Boys High School, Palmerston North
2015 St Thomas Of Canterbury College, Christchurch

2003 Rangeview Intermediate, Auckland
2004 Waimea Intermediate, Nelson
2005 Marina View School Auckland
2006 Russley Primary & St Kentigern Intermediate ChCh & Auckland
2007 Albany Primary, Auckland
2008 Waikari School and Kaikorai Valley College, Dunedin
2009 Newbury School, Palmerston North
2010 Taradale Intermediate, Napier
2011 Windsor Primary/Chisnell Wood Intermediate, Christchurch
2012 College Street Normal School Palmerston North
2013 Medbury School, Christchurch
2014 Palmerston North Normal Intermediate/Newbury Primary School, Palmerston North
2015 Balmacewen Intermediate, Dunedin

Prepared by FAST COMPANY on behalf of KartSport New Zealand. To find out more about the Automec Air 2015 KartSport New Zealand National Schools' Championship contact Ross MacKay on 021 677 919 or via e-mail at





KartSport New Zealand