yogg-stripe (2).jpgNZ Max Challenge logo.jpg





Karting brothers Daniel and Mathew Kinsman again kept it in the family at the latest round of this year's YÖGG Rotax Max Challenge of New Zealand near Rotorua over the weekend, dominating proceedings in the premier Platinum Glass 125cc Rotax Max Light class. 13RMCRnd2RotLightsDKinsmanMKinsmanDConnor-1.jpg

Defending class title holder Daniel qualified quickest and won both heats as well as the Pre-Final and Final while older brother Mathew qualified third quickest (behind his brother and Helensville driver Daniel Connor) before finishing third - again behind his brother and Connor - in the two heats then second in both the Pre-Final and Final.

Connor was always a threat, setting the quickest lap in each race, but never seemed to get the break he needed to get to the front and after finishing seventh in the Pre-Final tangled with Daniel Bray in the Final and ended up relegated to 28th place.

With Bray out and Connor relegated, series young gun Reid Harker ended up third in the Final behind the Kinsman brothers with Bradley Tremain fourth and reigning class South Island champion James Penrose fifth.

The meeting again attracted a bumper Rotax class entry with 67 drivers across three classes and drivers from as far afield as Dunedin and Whangarei making the trip to the country's newest kart track high in the Mamaku Ranges west of Rotorua.

Visiting Australian driver Lane Moore dominated the Logitech 125cc Rotax Max Heavy class, qualifying quickest and crossing the finish 13RMCRnd2RotHeavyStuartMarshall-1.jpgline in front in all the races only to be disqualified for a technical infringement afterwards, handing the round class win to Aucklander Stuart Marshall (who also won the Masters 32 yrs-and-over category) with 2010 Challenge class winner Aaron Cunningham second and Daniel Sayles third.

Dylan Drysdale didn't get as good a start to his weekend as he would have liked in the Arai Helmets Junior Max class but the diminutive Palmerston North driver got faster and faster with each outing, eventually winning both the Pre-Final and Final, the former from Hawke's Bay driver Maddie Wise, the latter from round one class runner-up Marcus Armstrong from Christchurch with Wise third, heat winner Campbell Joyes from Hamilton fourth and first round class winner Jordon McDonnell fifth.

This weekend's round at the KartSport Rotorua club's KartSport Rotorua International Raceway was the second of six with subsequent round at Te Puke, Tokoroa, Hawke's Bay and Auckland.13RMCRnd2RotJnrMaxDylanDrysdale-1.jpg

Total Points after worst drop - Rnd 2 of 6
(Total without drop in brackets)

Platinum Glass 125cc Rotax Max Light
1. Daniel Kinsman 89 (178) points
2. Mathew Kinsman 85 (170)
3. Daniel Connor 82 (135)
4. Reid Harker 81 (161)
5. Bradley Tremain 76 (140)
6=. James Penrose 74 (128)
6=. Mason Armstrong 74 (141)
6=. Nick Carpenter 74 (129)
6=. Daniel Bray 74 (132)

Arai Helmets Junior Max
1. Dylan Drysdale 89 (170) points
2. Jordan McDonnell 87 (163)
3. Marcus Armstrong 85 (169)
4=. Campbell Joyes 83 (163)
4=. Maddy Wise 83 (145)
6. Jacob Cranston 78 (153)

Logitech 125cc Rotax Max Heavy
1=.Brendon Hart 89 (165) points
1=. Stuart Marshall 89 (170)
3=. Aarron Cunningham 85 (85)
3=. Caleb Hartley 85 (158)
5. Jody Vincent 81 (158)
6. Teddy Bassick 77 (150)

In the Platinum Glass 125cc Rotax Max Light the Kinsman brothers, Daniel (#31) and Mathew (#30) were again dominant at Rotorua. In Arai Helmets Junior Max Dylan Drysdale (#30) came through to win the Final. And in Logitech 125cc Rotax Max Heavy the round win went to Stuart Marshall (#13). Photo credit: Fast Company/Graham Hughes

Rnd 1: Feb 16 KartSport Manawatu
Rnd 2: Mar 09-10 Kartsport Rotorua
Rnd 3: April 20-21 Kartsport Bay of Plenty
Rnd 4: May 25-26th Kartsport Tokoroa
Rnd 5: Aug 17-18 Kartsport Hawke's Bay
Rnd 6: Sept 21-22 Kartsport Auckland

 Prepared by FAST COMPANY on behalf KartSport New Zealand. To find out more about Kartsport in New Zealand contact Ross MacKay on 021 677 919 or via e-mail on ross@fastcompany.co.nz









KartSport New Zealand