Former New Zealand Junior 100cc Yamaha champion and Rotax Max Challenge Junior class winner Scott Manson is the latest high profile young New Zealand karter to move to the 6-speed-gearbox/125cc KZ2 class, the Christchurch teenager making his Formula S ProKart Series debut at Te Puke this weekend. 13SprintNatsKZ2ScottManson-1.jpg

While Aucklander Ryan Grant remains the driver to beat in the premier KZ2 class after the first two rounds, the addition of a driver of Manson's calibre to the field can only be good for the class which now numbers amongst its regulars, reigning South Island champion Chris Cox from Rangiora and recently crowned New Zealand Sprint champion Matthew Hamilton from Christchurch as well as Auckland-based stalwarts Graeme Smyth and V8 SuperTourer driver Richard Moore.

This weekend's series round has again attracted a 40+ field across the three ProKart Series classes (KZ2, KZ2 Masters and KF3) and is being run alongside the third round of the 2013 YÖGG Rotax Max Challenge of New Zealand.

After two rounds of the 2013 ProKart series defending champion Ryan Grant has a healthy lead in the series' points standings in the KZ2 class with Hamilton second and Matt Williams and Chris Cox equal third. 13ProKartRnd2RotMastersSnowMooney-1.jpg

Auckland veteran Snow Mooney has enjoyed a strong start in the KZ2 Masters class and leads brothers Mark and Todd Wheeler, also from Auckland, after two rounds while in the junior KF3 support class only three points separate series points leader Mitchell Turner from the Hawke's Bay and second placed Arran Crighton from Auckland.

The weekend's meeting is a two-day one with qualifying and at least one heat on Saturday and the remaining heats, Pre Finals and Finals on Sunday.

The round is the third of six with subsequent ones set to be held at Tokoroa, Hastings and Auckland.

2013 Formula S KartSport ProKart Series
Points after Rnd 2 of 6

1. Ryan Grant 224
2. Matthew Hamilton 20913ProKartRnd2RotKF3MitchellSanders-1.jpg
3. Matt Williams 207
4. Chris Cox 207
5. Kent Wheeler 201
6. Jordan Morris 201

1. Mitchell Turner  220
2. Arran Crighton 217
3. Mitchell Sanders 208
4. Thomas Batt  205
5. Logan Brown 205
6. Oscar Drummond 202

KZ2 Masters
1. Snow Mooney 219
2. Mark Wheeler 210
3. Todd Wheeler 208
4. Brett Hollander 204
5. Garry Claxton 204
6. Leo Bult 202

CAPTIONS: Former NZ Junior class champion Scott Manson (#90) from Christchurch makes his Formula S ProKart Series debut in the KZ2 class at Te Puke this weekend. Photo credit: Fast Company/Leith Robertson. Other drivers to look out for are KZ2 Masters class points leader Snow Mooney (#25) and KF3 class fast man Mitchell Sanders (#11). Photo credit: Fast Company/Graham Hughes

Rnd 1: Jan 26-27 Mi Sedaap CIK Trophy of NZ, KartSport Wellington
Rnd 2: Mar 09-10 Kartsport Rotorua
Rnd 3: April 20-21 Kartsport Bay of Plenty
Rnd 4: May 25-26th Kartsport Tokoroa
Rnd 5: Aug 17-18 Kartsport Hawke's Bay
Rnd 6: Sept 21-22 Kartsport Auckland

 Prepared by FAST COMPANY on behalf of KartSport New Zealand. To find out more about KartSport in New Zealand contact Ross MacKay on 021 677 919 or via e-mail on


KartSport New Zealand