Wanganui ace Aaron Marr made no race of this year's KartSport Taranaki One-Hour senior enduro on Sunday, putting two laps on his nearest rival, David Cox of Bell Block, also in a shifter kart, showing his class to complete 104 laps in cold wet conditions. Marr enduro.jpg

Brittany Riddick was the first driver of a Yamaha-enigned kart home in 5th place and 7 laps off the leader. Scott Williams and Aaron de Ridder had a final to forget, fouling a spark plug as they crossed the line to start the race. Six-time winner Brad Still was 3rd in the Open class, ahead of Ben Thom and Greg Robinson first of the Rotax karts in 6th. Geoff Thom brought his evergreen Arrow chassis home in 8th overall.

Thomas Boniface was dominant in the 30-lap Enduro from P1, setting a new Cadet ROK lap record for the Todd Energy Raceway track and carving out a 21s lead over Logan Smith of Hawera.

Boniface has won this event 4 years in a row and this was a great warm-up for him when he defends his NZ Schools title in Palmerston North in two weeks.

The Junior Restricted 50 lap race produced a surprise result, as Dylan Frere was the fastest driver all day, but was hampered by a lengthy pit stop on lap 24, handing the victory to Robbie Johnson of Hawera who was followed home by Nathan Cox. A disappointing result for Frere, who had succumbed to a similar fate in 2013 with a tyre change costing him that race.still enduro.jpg

Junior 100cc Yamaha saw a return to the track by Matthew Podjursky. He was behind in speed from brothers Brendon and Ryan Jury of Bell Block. Brendon pushed hard all day, earning P1 for the 50-lap final. A dry race was interrupted by a sudden downpour of rain at around lap 28, after the drivers had all made their scheduled pit stops and resumed on slick tyres. The decision to roll the dice and persevere in the rain on slicks paid off for Podjursky, who skated his way to victory on a soggy surface which was treacherous to drive on.

The event attracted 30+ drivers with the Cadet class enjoying 6 entrants, including a contingent of newer drivers from South Taranaki and Wanganui.

CAPTIONS: Aaron Marr #11 and Brad Still #33. Credit Emilee Wright


Cadet (30 laps):
1. T. Boniface (#67); 2. L. Smith (#42); 3. D. Austin (#22); 4. C. Smith (#64); 5. E. Dwyer (#6): 6.R. Wicksteed (11X)

Junior Restricted Enduro (50 laps):
1. R. Johnson; 2. N. Cox; 3. D. Frere

Junior 100cc Yamaha Enduro (50 laps):
1. M. Podjursky; 2. B. Jury; 3. R. Jury; 4.  J. Dwyer; 5. J. Smith

Senior Enduro:
1. A. Marr (KZ2); 2. D. Cox (KZ2); 3. B. Still (Open); 4. B. Thom (Open); 5. B. Riddick (Yamaha Light); 6. G. Robinson (Rotax Max Light); 7. L. Boyde (Yamaha Light); 8. G. Thom (Rotax Max Light); 9. C. van Zyl (Rotax Max Heavy); 10. A. Bruce (Rotax Max Light); 11. R. Johnson (Rotax Max Heavy); 12. S. Beck & D. Taylor (Rotax Max Heavy); 13. A. de Ridder & S. Williams (KF2) 13

Report from Robert Boniface, KartSport Taranaki

KartSport New Zealand