Mwtu ToyotaTRC CHROME BOTH 2015a.jpg

WPKA series_nodates.jpg



There's a distinct North Island versus South Island flavour in key classes heading into the final round of the 2016/17 Manawatu & TRC Toyota WPKA Goldstar Series in the Hawke's Bay this weekend. Cadet ROK - Louis Sharp SI leads Tom Bewley 4 VJlr-1.jpg

Just one point, for instance, separates Christchurch's Scott Manson, the leader in the main Senior class, Rotax Max Light, from Palmerston North's John Wallace, while just four separate Rotax Max Junior class leader, Palmerston North's Jackson Rooney, from Picton's William Exton.

Also, recently crowned Cadet ROK class National Sprint champion Louis Sharp from Christchurch is one of only two drivers across the six different classes being contested with a perfect score, having claimed round wins at the two previous series rounds at Waitara in Taranaki and Wellington. 

However both Emerson Vincent from Pukekohe and top local (Hawke's Bay) prospect Tom Bewley are both still within striking distance, Vincent just six points adrift, Bewley seven.

Vincent and Sharp are also tied for the lead in the separate one-off Grand Prix race classification in the Cadet ROK class.

This weekend's series final at the KartSport Hawke's Bay club's Chemz Raceway at Roy's Hill on the outskirts of HastingsVortex Mini ROK - Liam SceatsVJlr-1.jpg has again attracted a strong entry from all over the country and is the first major test for many of the drivers since the Sievwright Blasting Panel Paint National Sprint Championship meeting at Invercargill over the Easter weekend.

In other classes Brendon Jury from New Plymouth and Palmerston North young gun Jacob Cranston are tied for the top spot in the Open class points standings. Another Palmerston North  driver, Braden Parsons, leads the ClubSport120 class standings (with the only other perfect 120 point score after wins at both previous rounds) from New Plymouth's Roger Pepperell and Brent Hickmott from Palmerston North.

Vortex Mini ROK, meanwhile, looks set to be a battle involving young Aucklanders Liam Sceats and Mason Potter, Asten Addy from Hamilton and Zak Christensen from Christchurch.

There will also be plenty of local interest too, as top Hawke's Bay drivers Tom Bewley (Cadet ROK) and Zac Stichbury and Ronan Murphy (Rotax Max Jun) take on the visiting drivers.Rotax Jnr - Jackson Rooney 30 leads Riley Jack 31 VJlr-1.jpg

There will be action on track at Chemz Raceway from 9.00am on Sunday and spectators are welcome.

The weekend round is the third of three which make up this season's Manawatu & TRC Toyota WPKA Goldstar Series, but the KartSport Manawatu club will also run the annual standalone WPKA Championships meeting in Palmerston North on Sunday June 04

CAPTIONS: Class winners at the second round of the Manawatu & TRC Toyota WPKA Goldstar Series in Wellington included Louis Sharp (#SI) in Cadet ROK, Liam Sceats (#23) in Vortex Mini ROK and Jackson Rooney (#30) in Junior Rotax.
Photo credit: Fast Company/Vicky Jack


2016/17 Manawatu & TRC Toyota WPKA Goldstar Series 

Points after Rnd 2 of 3

CADET ROK                        
1. Louis Sharp 120; 2. Emerson Vincent 114; 3. Tom Bewley 113; 4. Kiahn Burt 110; 5. Judd Christianson 109; 6. Ollie Workman 107. 

1. Liam Sceats 118; 2. Mason Potter 113; 3. Asten Addy 113; 4. Zak Christensen 109; 5. Logan Manson 107; 6. Logan Smith 105. 

ROTAX MAX JNR                                              
1. Jackson Rooney 118; 2. William Exton 114; 3. Zac Stichbury 112;  4.Riley Jack 112; 5. Ronan Murphy 110; 6. Jamie Van den Berk 106

ROTAX MAX LIGHT                                          
1. Scott Manson 117; 2. John Wallace 116; 3. Campbell Jamieson 112; 4. James Higgins 111; 5. Ashton Baird 107; 6. Logan Boyde 58

CLUBSPORT 120                                                
1. Braden Parsons 120; 2. Roger Pepperell 113; 3. Brent Hickmott 111; 4. Richard Krogh 109; 5. Stuart Frew 108; 6. Derek Lawrence  58

1.  Brendon Jury 116; 2. Jacob Cranston 116; 3. Michael Jury 109; 4. Ashley Higgins 53 53 106; 5. Andrew Hoare 60 60; 6. Chris Cox 57 57

1. Louis Sharp 97; 2. Emerson Vincent 97; 3. Kiahn Burt 93; 4. Tom Bewley 92; 5. Ollie Workman 89; 6. Hugo Neale 85. 

VORTEX MINI ROK GP                    
1. Zak Christensen 96; 2. Liam Sceats 93; 3. Logan Smith 90; 4. Logan Manson 90; 5. Jenson Bate 88; 6. Mason Potter 84; 

ROTAX MAX JUNIOR GP                
1. Jackson Rooney 98; 2. William Exton 95; 3. Zac Stichbury 93; 4. Ronan Murphy 91; 5. Jackson Whitfield 87; 6. Daniel Hall 85. 

SENIOR GP                                                                          
1. Jacob Cranston 95; 2. Brendon Jury 94; 3. Michael Jury 85; 4. Ashley Higgins 85; 5. Campbell Jamieson  83; 6. Brandon King 82. 


2016/17 Manawatu & TRC Toyota WPKA Goldstar Series
Rnd 1 Nov 20 2016 Todd Energy Raceway Waitara Taranaki
Rnd 2 March 05 2017 George Refrigeration & Air Conditioning Raceway Kaitoke Wellington
Rnd 3 May 07 2017 Chemz Raceway Roy's Hill Hastings Hawke's Bay
WPKA Championships June 04 2017 Manawatu Toyota Raceway Palmerston North Manawatu


Prepared by FAST COMPANY on behalf of KartSport New Zealand. To find out more about KartSport in New Zealand contact Ross MacKay on 021 677 919 or via e-mail at






KartSport New Zealand