2013 Todd Energy logo.jpg

2016 NZ Schools.jpg




Palmerston North schools dominated this year's Todd Energy-sponsored KartSport New Zealand National Schools' Championships in Taranaki over the weekend.16Secondary Schools Award podium_edited-1.jpg

In the Secondary Schools' section students Jacob Cranston and Tom Greig gave their school, Palmerston North Boys' High School, a record-extending fifth title in 12 years. Jackson Rooney and Louis Redshaw, meanwhile, won the Primary/Intermediate/category on behalf of their school, Palmerston North Intermediate Normal School.

Jacob Cranston was one of two heat winners in the 125cc Rotax Max Light class, eventually finishing second in class to long-time rival Dylan Drysdale. One of a small number of drivers contesting two classes at the meeting, Tom Greig finished third in Formula Junior and fourth in Junior 100cc Yamaha. 

In the Primary/Intermediate category Jackson Rooney and Louis Redshaw both contested the Vortex Mini ROK class with Rooney finishing third overall and Redshaw tenth.16SchoolsFJUnKalebNgatoa1leadsRyanWood40.jpg (2).jpg

Individual class titles went to Dylan Drysdale (Palmerston North, 125cc Rotax Max Light), Kaleb Ngatoa (Palmerston North, Formula Junior), Ryan Wood (Wellington, Junior 100cc Yamaha), Thomas Boniface (New Plymouth, Vortex Mini ROK), and Logan Manson (Palmerston North, Cadet ROK). 

This year the Bruce McLaren KartSport awards (for the winners of the two Junior or Senior classes with the most entries) went to Kaleb Ngatoa and Ryan Wood.

CAPTIONS: Secondary Schools title winners for their school, Palmerston North Boys' High School, were Jacob Cranston16SchoolsVortexMiniROKThomasBoniface67-1.jpg (2).jpg (left) and Tom Greig (right).  Class winners at the Todd Energy 2016 KartSport New Zealand National Schools'Championship meeting at Waitara in Taranaki over the weekend included Kaleb Ngatoa (#1 Formula Junior), Thomas Boniface (#67 Vortex Mini ROK), Ryan Wood (#2 Junior 100cc Yamaha), and  Logan Manson (#16 Cadet ROK).  Bruce McLaren KartSport award winners were Ryan Wood and Kaleb Ngatoa. Photo credit: Track photos Fast Company/Vicky Jack. Podium photos Fast Company/Campbell Jamieson.


Todd Energy 2016 KartSport New Zealand National Schools' Championships Todd Energy Raceway Waitara Taranaki Sat-Sun July 16-17 2016 TEAMS

Secondary Schools:
1. Palmerston North Boys' High School - 5 points - Jacob Cranston (Rotax Light) & Tom Greig (Formula Junior)
2. Francis Douglas Memorial College - 15 points - Jonathan Dwyer (Rotax Light) & Jayden Smith (Rotax Light)
3. Christ's College - 16 points - Jack Noble-Adams (Junior Yamaha) & Oscar Noble-Adams (Junior Yamaha) 

Primary/Intermediate Schools:16SchoolsJnr YamRyanWood2.jpg (2).jpg
1. Palmerston North Normal  Intermediate School - 13 points - Louis Redshaw (Vortex Mini ROK) & Jackson Rooney (Vortex Mini ROK)
2. Hokowhitu School & Ross Intermediate School - 23 points - Jenson Bate (Vortex Mini ROK) & Riley Jack (Formula Junior)
3. Te Mata Primary School - 27 points - Tom Bewley (Cadet ROK) & Harry Bewley (Vortex Mini ROK)


125cc Rotax Max Light
1.  Dylan Drysdale; 2. Jacob Cranston; 3. Chris King; 4. Ethan Hourigan; 5. Suvarn Naidoo; 6. Ayden Polaschek

Formula Junior
1. Kaleb Ngatoa; 2. Ryan Wood; 3. Tom Greig; 4.  Jaden Ransley; 5. Joshua Parkinson; 6. Ashton Grant.

Junior 100cc Yamaha16SchoolsCadeROKLoganManson-1.jpg (2).jpg
1. Ryan Wood; 2. Jaden Ransley; 3. Billy Frazer; 4. Tom Greig; 5. Joshua Parkinson; 6. Fynn Osborne

Vortex Mini ROK
1. Thomas Boniface; 2. William Exton; 3. Jackson Rooney; 4. Ryan Crombie; 5. Blake Austin; 6. Liam Sceats

Cadet ROK
1. Logan Manson; 2. Ryan Bell; 3. Bo Hill; 4. Louis Sharp; 5. Kaden Probst; 6. Sebastian Manson



2003 Rangitoto College, Auckland16Mclaren Awards podium_edited-1.jpg
2004 St Kentigern College, Auckland
2005 Palmerston North Boys' High, Palmerston North
2006 Waimea College, Nelson
2007 St Kentigern College, Auckland
2008 St Andrews College, Christchurch
2009 St Andrews College, Christchurch
2010 Palmerston North Boys' High, Palmerston North
2011 Auckland Grammar School, Auckland
2012 Palmerston North Boys' High, Palmerston North
2013 Burnside High School, Christchurch
2014 Palmerston North Boys' High School, Palmerston North
2015 St Thomas of Canterbury College, Christchurch
2016 Palmerston North Boys' High School, Palmerston North


2003 Rangeview Intermediate, Auckland
2004 Waimea Intermediate, Nelson
2005 Marina View School, Auckland
2006 Russley Primary, Christchurch & St Kentigern Intermediate, Auckland
2007 Albany Primary, Auckland
2008 Waikari School and Kaikorai Valley College, Dunedin
2009 Newbury School, Palmerston North
2010 Taradale Intermediate, Napier
2011 Windsor Primary/Chisnell Wood Intermediate, Christchurch
2012 College Street Normal School, Palmerston North
2013 Medbury School, Christchurch
2014 Palmerston North Normal Intermediate/Newbury Primary School, Palmerston North
2015 Balmacewen Intermediate, Dunedin
2016 Palmerston North Normal Intermediate, Palmerston North 


Prepared by FAST COMPANY on behalf of KartSport New Zealand. To find out more about the Todd Energy 2016 KartSport New Zealand National Schools' Championship contact Ross MacKay on 021 677 919 or via e-mail at ross@fastcompany.co.nz





KartSport New Zealand