Mwtu ToyotaTRC CHROME BOTH 2015a.jpg

WPKA champs_nodates.jpg



Each year, karters who have been contesting the annual Wellington Provincial Karting Association (WPKA) Goldstar Series gather for one last linked but standalone ‘Championships’ meeting.18TTRCGoldstarR3HBBriggsLO206BrenttMelhop61-1 (002).jpg

This year that meeting is again being hosted by the KartSport Manawtu kart club at Manawatu Toyota Raceway on the outskirts of Palmerston North on Sunday. This year the meeting also hosts the third round of the 2018 ROK Cup New Zealand series.

The ROK Cup New Zealand is a national series for the Vortex ROK-engined karts which contest the Cadet ROK and Vortex Mini ROK classes in this country. 

The winner of the Vortex Mini ROK class in the ROK Cup will join 2018 NZ Sprint VMR Champion, Jacob Douglas at the 2018 ROK Cup International Finals in Italy in October.

The series winner of the Cadet ROK class is not forgotten either, they win a new Vortex Mini ROK engine.

The new Vortex ROK DVS Junior class will also be contested this weekend giving competitors a chance to fine tune their18TTRCGoldstarRnd1OpenJacobCranston1-1 (002).jpg new engines ahead of the 2018 National Schools Championships at KartSport Hawkes Bay in July where two more seats to the ROK Cup International Finals will be up for grabs.

All up the WPKA Championships meeting has attracted over 90 entries across nine classes with 16 each in the Cadet ROK and Vortex Mini ROK junior classes.

The ROK Cup New Zealand series points could hardly be closer in either class with Mason Potter a single point ahead of fellow Aucklander Hayden Bakkerus in the Vortex Mini ROK class standings after two rounds, and top local driver Kiahn Burt also just one point ahead of Jay Urwin from Tauranga in Cadet ROK.

Whatever the outcome the event concludes with a gala prize-giving for the 2017/18 Manawatu and TRC Toyota WPKA18TTRCGoldstarR2WellVMRTomBewley4-1 (002).jpg Goldstar Series.

There will be WPKA Championships meeting action on track from 9.00am at Manawatu Toyota Raceway on Sunday. Spectators are welcome.

CAPTIONS : 2017/18  Manawatu & TRC Toyota WPKA Goldstar Series class winners who will be honoured at the prize giving function on Sunday night include Brent Melhop (ClubSport LO206 #61), Jacob Cranston (Open #1), Tom Bewley (Vortex Mini ROK #4) and Blake Dowdall (Cadet ROK #11) Fast Company/Vicky Jack.


18TTRCGoldstarR3HBCadetROKBlakeDowdall11-1 (002).jpgCALENDAR

2016/17 Manawatu & TRC Toyota WPKA Goldstar Series
Rnd 1 Nov 19 2017 Todd Energy Raceway, Waitara, Taranaki
Rnd 2 March 04 2018 George Refrigeration & Air Conditioning Raceway, Kaitoke, Wellington
Rnd 3 May 06 2018 Chemz Raceway, Roy's Hill Hastings Hawke's Bay 
WPKA Championships June 03 2018 Manawatu Toyota Raceway, Palmerston North, Manawatu



Prepared by FAST COMPANY on behalf of KartSport New Zealand. To find out more about KartSport in New Zealand contact Ross MacKay on 021 677 919 or via e-mail at

KartSport New Zealand