Henderson's Waitakere College and Pakuranga's St Kentigern College were the big winners at the 15th annual Auckland16AucklandSchoolslSecwinnersJordynWallaceandSophieBone-1 (2).jpg Schools Karting Championship meeting at the KartSport Auckland club's Strata Networks Raceway on Sunday.

Female karters remained to the fore with Waitakere College claimed the Secondary Schools prize for the first time thanks to students Jordyn Wallace and Sophie Bone.

Meanwhile the Primary/Intermediate award went to St Kentigern courtesy students Sam Wright and Sebastian Manson.

Schools from across the wider Auckland region were represented at the annual meeting held in cool, dry conditions at the KartSport Auckland track on Rosebank Domain.

Jordyn Wallace and Sophie Bone earned the Secondary School award for Waitakere College with a second in the Junior 100cc Yamaha class (Sophie Bone) and 13th in Junior Rotax (Jordyn Wallace).

Sam Wright and Sebastian Manson earned St Kentigern the Primary/Intermediate award with second placings in their respective classes, Wright Junior Rotax and Manson Cadet Raket.

Class winners at the meeting included Stewart Saunders (Senior Rotax), Joshua Parkinson (Junior Rotax), Aiden Feeney (Junior 100cc Yamaha), Ryan Crombie (Vortex Mini ROK), Hayden Bakkerus (Cadet ROK) and Mason Potter (Cadet Raket).

Numbers-wise St Kentigern College was again one of the best represented schools with Sam Wright finishing second in16AucklandSchoolsStKentigerndriversl2rCharlieColemanSebastianMansonSam WrightandMitchell Frazerlr-1 (2).jpg Junior Rotax, Sebastian Manson second in Cadet Raket and third in Cadet ROK, and Charlie Coleman seventh and Mitchell Frazer 12th respectively in Vortex Mini ROK. 

School-age karters from around the country now turn their attention to the 2016 National Schools Championships meeting in Taranaki over the July 16-17 weekend.

CAPTIONS: Auckland Schools' Kart Championship Secondary Schools' award winners for Waitakere College, Jordyn Wallace and Sophie Bone (Photo credit: Fast Company/Jordyn Wallace Racing), St Kentigern College drivers (l to r) Charlie Coleman, Sebastian Manson, Sam Wright and Mitchell Frazer, and Vortex Mini ROK class winner Ryan Crombie (#63) leading Dylan Grant (#20) in a heat race. Photo credit: Fast Company/Emilee Wright.



2016 Auckland Schools Karting Championship meeting, Strata Networks Raceway, Auckland Sat-Sun July 02-03

Secondary Schools16AucklandSchoolsVMiniROKRyanCrombie63leadsDylanGrant20lr-1 (2).jpg
1.  Waitakere College (Jordyn Wallace & Sophie Bone)

1. St Kentigerns (Sam Wright & Sebastian Manson)

Junior Rotax
1. Joshua Parkinson; 2. Sam Wright; 3. Brock Gilchrist; 4. Ashton Grant; 5. Billy Frazer; 6. Taylor Hurst

Junior 100cc Yamaha
1. Aidan Feeney; 2. Sophie Bone; 3. Chloe Senk

Vortex Mini ROK
1. Ryan Crombie; 2. Josh Richmond; 3. Dylan Grant; 4. Luke Thompson; 5. Marco Giltrap; 6. Callum Armstrong

Cadet ROK
1. Hayden Bakkerus; 2. Kaden Probst; 3. Sebastian Manson; 4. Mason Potter; 5. Ashton Phipps; 6. Bronson Hudson. 

Cadet Raket
1. Mason Potter; 2. Sebastian Manson; 3. Hayden Bakkerus; 4. Alex Linklater; 5. Logan Platt,


Prepared by FAST COMPANY on behalf of KartSport New Zealand. To find out more about KartSport in New Zealand contact Ross MacKay on 021 677 919 or via e-mail at ross@fastcompany.co.nz




KartSport New Zealand