2017 NZ Schools.jpg




Palmerston North Boys High School claimed a record-extending sixth Secondary Schools' title at the Supreme Kart Supplies KartSport New Zealand National Schools' Championships in Blenheim on Saturday.17SchoolsBruceMcLarenAwardJacobCranstonandSamWright-1.jpg

Students from the school first claimed the premier Secondary title in 2005, then again in 2010, 2012, 2014, 2016 and now 2017. It is a record unmatched by any other school with only two others over the 15 years the annual event has been running having won the title more than once, Auckland's St Kentigern College (2004 & 2007) and Christchurch's St Andrew's College (2008 & 2009).

This year the title was successfully defended by students Jacob Cranston, the winner of the 125cc Rotax Max Light class, Jackson Rooney who claimed runner-up spots in both the Rotax Max Junior and Junior 100cc Yamaha classes, and Riley Jack who finished 12th in Rotax Max Junior.

There is a new name, meanwhile, on the Primary/Intermediate Schools trophy, that award going this year to Havelock North's Te Mata School/Havelock North Intermediate. The Bewley brothers, Tom and Harry won the title for their school with second spot in Cadet ROK (Tom) and 14th in Vortex Mini ROK (Harry). 17SchoolsPNBHteamJacksonRooneyJacobCranstonandandRileyJack-1.jpg

The 15th annual KartSport New Zealand National Schools' Championships event was hosted this year by the KartSport Marlborough club and Marlborough Boys' College and held in cool, but dry conditions at the club's track, Cresswell Electrical Kart Raceway off the Wither Rd Extension, in Blenheim. 

This year there were 68 entries representing eight secondary schools and four primary/intermediate ones.

Individual class titles went to Jacob Cranston (Palmerston North, 125cc Rotax Max Light), Sam Wright (Auckland Rotax Max Junior), William Exton (Picton, Junior 100cc Yamaha), Emerson Vincent (Pukekohe, Vortex Mini ROK), and Louis Sharp (Christchurch, Cadet ROK). 

This year the Bruce McLaren KartSport awards went to Jacob Cranston from Palmerston North Boys High School and Sam Wright from St Kentigern College in Auckland.17SchoolsPrimINtwinnersHarryandTomBewley-1.jpg

The 2017 Schools' event also hosted the final round of the ROK Cup New Zealand. 

ROK Cup New Zealand is a multi-round series for young drivers contesting either Vortex ROK-engined class, Cadet ROK (for 6-11 year-olds) or Vortex Mini ROK (for those 9 to 12).

The first and second placed competitors in the Vortex Mini ROK class earn entry to the annual ROK Cup International Finals meeting in Italy later this year while the overall series winner in the Cadet ROK class gets a brand new Vortex Mini ROK engine.

Levin's Logan Manson successfully defended his series lead to claim the class win and with it trip to Italy for the Finals meeting in October where he will be joined by series' runner-up Asten Addy from Hamilton.17SchoolsCadetROKLouisSharpleads-1.jpg

Reigning South Island and New Zealand champion Louis Sharp from Christchurch made it a title trifecta in the Cadet ROK class, winning every race he started to add the NZ Schools title to his Island and National pair, and take the series prize of a brand new Vortex ROK engine.


Secondary Schools
1.  Palmerston North High School, Palmerston North (Jacob Cranston, Jackson Rooney, Riley Jack)
2. St Kentigern College, Auckland (Joshua Parkinson, Sam Wright, Sebastian Manson)
3. Lincoln High School, Christchurch (Jacob Mitchell, Jacob McLaren, Adam Godwin)

1. Te Mata School/Havelock North Intermediate, Havelock North (Tom Bewley, Harry Bewley)17SchoolsVortexMiniROKEmersonVincentleads-1.jpg
2. Whakarongo School, Palmerston North (Kiahn Burt, Blake Dowell)
3. Medbury School, Christchurch (Jacob Douglas, Blake Knowles)


125cc Rotax Max Light
1. Jacob Cranston (PN); 2. Kaleb Ngatoa (Mar); 3. Billy Mori (HB); 4. Jack Noble-Adams (ChCh); 5. Jack McLaren (ChCh); 6. Kyle Hollingworth (Wstpt).

Rotax Max Junior
1. Sam Wright (Akld); 2. Jackson Rooney (PN); 3. Joshua Parkinson (Akld); 4. Ryan Wood (Wgtn); 5. Jacob  Mitchell (ChCh); 6. Ashton Grant (Akld).

Junior 100cc Yamaha
1. William Exton (Pic); 2. Jackson Rooney (PN); 3. Ryan Wood (Wgtn); 4. Ryan Crombie (Akld); 5. Joshua Parkinson17SchoolsRotaxJuniorSamWright.jpg (Akld); 6. Sam Wright (Akld).

Vortex Mini ROK
1. Emerson Vincent (Puk); 2. Dylan Grant (Akld); 3. Liam Sceats (Akld); 4. Jacob Douglas (ChCh); 5. Asten Addy (Ham); 6. Logan Manson (Lev)

Cadet ROK
1. Louis Sharp (ChCh); 2. Tom Bewley (HB); 3. Judd Christianson (PN); 4. Jay Urwin (Tga); 5. Jaxon Harvey (Mosg);  6. Ashton Phipps (Akld)





Final points after Rnd 4 of 4

Vortex Mini ROK17SchoolsJnrYamahaWilliamExton-1.jpg
1. Logan Manson 187 points
2. Asten Addy 182
3. Kaden Probst & Mason Potter 174
5. Zeal Jones 171
6. Liam Pink 170
7. Dylan Grant 139
8. Luke Thompson 126
9. Bo Hill 124

Cadet ROK
1.  Louis Sharp 194 points
2. Jaxon Harvey 176
3. Ashton Phipps 175
4=. James Black & Jay Urwin 172
6. Ollie Workman 169
7. Emerson Vincent 9717SchoolsRotaxLightJacobCranstonleadsKalebNgatoa-1.jpg
8. Tom Bewley 92

CAPTIONS: Bruce McLaren KartSport award winners at the Supreme Kart Supplies 2017 KartSport New Zealand National Schools Championships meeting in Blenheim on Sunday were Jacob Cranston from Palmerston North Boys High and Sam Wright from St Kentigern College. Representing Palmerston North Boys High at the meeting were Jackson Rooney, Jacob Cranston and Riley Jack. Primary/Intermediate title winner was Te Mata School/Havelock North Intermediate represented by Harry and Tom Bewley. Class title winners at the event were Louis Sharp (#1 Cadet ROK), Emerson Vincent (#10 Vortex Mini ROK), Sam Wright (#7 Rotax Junior), William Exton (# 42 Junior Yamaha) and Jacob Cranston (#NI 125cc Rotax Max Light). And off to the ROK Cup international final in Italy later this year are 2017 ROK Cup NZ Vortex Mini ROK class series winner Logan Manson from17SchoolsVortexMiniROKItalyLoganMansonandAstenAddy-1 (002).JPG Levin and runner-up Asten Addy from Hamilton. Photo credit: Fast Company/Emilee Jane Photography



2003 Rangitoto College, Auckland
2004 St Kentigern College, Auckland
2005 Palmerston North Boys' High, Palmerston North
2006 Waimea College, Nelson
2007 St Kentigern College, Auckland
2008 St Andrews College, Christchurch
2009 St Andrews College, Christchurch
2010 Palmerston North Boys' High, Palmerston North
2011 Auckland Grammar School, Auckland
2012 Palmerston North Boys' High, Palmerston North
2013 Burnside High School, Christchurch
2014 Palmerston North Boys' High School, Palmerston North
2015 St Thomas of Canterbury College, Christchurch
2016 Palmerston North Boys' High School, Palmerston North
2017 Palmerston North Boys' High School, Palmerston North


2003 Rangeview Intermediate, Auckland
2004 Waimea Intermediate, Nelson
2005 Marina View School, Auckland
2006 Russley Primary, Christchurch & St Kentigern Intermediate, Auckland
2007 Albany Primary, Auckland
2008 Waikari School and Kaikorai Valley College, Dunedin
2009 Newbury School, Palmerston North
2010 Taradale Intermediate, Napier
2011 Windsor Primary/Chisnell Wood Intermediate, Christchurch
2012 College Street Normal School, Palmerston North
2013 Medbury School, Christchurch
2014 Palmerston North Normal Intermediate/Newbury Primary School, Palmerston North
2015 Balmacewen Intermediate, Dunedin
2016 Palmerston North Normal Intermediate, Palmerston North
2017 Te Mata School/Havelock North Intermediate, Havelock North, Hawke's Bay


Prepared by FAST COMPANY on behalf of KartSport New Zealand. To find out more about the Supreme Kart Supplies 2017 KartSport New Zealand National Schools' Championships in Blenheim on Saturday contact Ross MacKay on 021 677 919 or via e-mail at

KartSport New Zealand