Rounds 2 & 3 of the IKS 3-Way Series were crammed into one day, which was prefaced by rain and other less-than-fun Kinsman sideways.jpgconditions. However, there were a number of bonus points on offer, which made a day trackside a little more tolerable. With other race meetings clashing, entries were 25 karts lower than Round 1 but still strong at 49 drivers.

Cadet ROK was first away and featured a set of fine drives in the wet by Taranaki driver Thomas Boniface, leading the field across the line by over 14 seconds in each morning heat. Billy Frazer struggled in the wet conditions and Dylan Grant drove well to record two 2nds and a 5th.

Marco Giltrap is improving each time out the gate, picking up a second placing in H2. The afternoon saw the track go greasy, which closed the gap up front with Boniface and Frazer sharing two race wins each. Jack Crawford had an early exit after planting his kart into the crash bags at “"Clubhouse corner”". Shaken but unhurt, Jack retired for the day.

Junior Restricted Yamaha was again won by Lee Zeltwanger from Joshua Parkinson by only 1 point for the day. Third position for the day went to Ryan Crombie, who scored a win and three 2nd placings. Crombie was pushed hard by Nate Coyne.Lawson photo.jpg

The Vortex Mini ROK class was light, with only Brock Gilchrist and Ben Hurst turning out. Gilchrist secured 6 wins from the 7 heats, with Hurst collecting the win in the final.

The first of the senior classes was Rotax Max Light, sponsored by N-Zed Motorsport. NZ #1 Mathew Kinsman was in great form in the changeable conditions, securing victory with four wins and three 2nd placings ahead of Keith Wilkinson and Jonathan Buxeda. Wilkinson narrowly snatched the 2nd spot by 1 point from Buxeda.

Cadet Raket was again a tough class to compete in. All seven drivers were keen to get as close to the front as possible. After some torrid battles, featuring some excellent passing and skill displays, Quade Krissansen emerged victorious on 219 points due to one extra heat win over Mitchell Frazer on count back, with Josh Richmond filling the 3rd position.

Liam Lawson made his Mt. Wellington debut in his brand new Sodi chassis and immediately stamped authority on the Formula Junior field with four heat wins, two 2nds and a third placing. His tally of 220 points was always going to be tough to beat so Dylan Hallberg and Daniel Talbot battled for the remaining podium spots. First round winner, Talbot, had to succumb to the pressure from Hallberg and finished up in 3rd spot on count back. Tied on points, Hallberg’’s two race wins helped him steal the 2nd step on the dais.Burson high line.jpg

The Unrated Cadets again turned on a great display, with ROK and Raket powered karts mixed together. Emerson Vincent looked pretty happy to jet around in his Sodi kart to victory and his first trophy. At 6 years old and showing great pace already, Emerson will be a driver to watch develop in the future.

The Raket Unrated Cadets were lead home by Heath McConnell who was closely followed by Corey Linn and Kaden Probst who were tied on 216 points, only 2 points adrift of McConnell.

The wet weather must have scared away Snow Mooney and Peter Wrightson, as they were practising on Saturday but were not trackside come Sunday morning. Only one Open driver fronted up, so Glenn Ellis completed three heats before disappearing.

So, an intense day of changeable weather to test the crews and drivers, mixed with some great prizes and giveaways and the sad news that Colleen Polenski is retiring after 30 years of service to KartSport. An absolute asset to KartSport Mt. Wellington, thank you for the many years of help Colleen, the club wishes you well in the future and karting in general will miss you terribly.Josh Richmond and Zeal Jones.jpg

2015 is shaping up to be another great 3-Way Series, with International Kart Supplies re-signing as the naming-rights sponsor which is fantastic news, thank you to Mathew Kinsman at IKS.

Thank you to the IKS team for supporting the 2014 event and the club would also like to thank The Mad Butcher, Lascom Motorsport, Right Karts, Power and Earth, Property Tutors, MG Tyres, N-ZED Motorsport, Motul Oil New Zealand, Total Access, Monster Energy, Point 2 Point, Lynmac Meats and Another Orange Service Centre.

Finals Series Points Standings:

Unrated Cadet Raket:
1. Kaden Probst (543 pts); 2. Corey Linn (543 pts); 3. Heath McConnell (540 pts).

Unrated Cadet ROK:
1. Emerson Vincent (549 pts); 2. Sebastian Manson (209 pts)Boniface leading.jpg

Cadet Raket:
1. Mitchell Frazer (547 pts); 2. Quade Krissansen (539 pts); 3. Josh Richmond (518 pts)

Cadet ROK:
1. Thomas Boniface (548 pts); 2.  Billy Frazer (540 pts); 3. Dylan Grant (526 pts)

Junior Restricted Yamaha:
1. Lee Zeltwanger (546 pts); 2. Joshua Parkinson (535 pts); 3. Ryan Crombie (533 pts)

Vortex Mini ROK:
1. Brock Gilchrist (549 pts); 2. Benjamin Hurst (368 pts); 3. Fynn Osborne (202 pts) 3

Formula Junior:
1. Dylan Hallberg (538 pts); 2. Daniel Talbot (532 pts); 3. Jarrod Impey (516 pts)

Rotax Max Light:
1. Mathew Kinsman (548 pts); 2. Jonathan Buxeda (531 pts); 3. Keith Wilkinson (523 pts)

Senior Yamaha Heavy:
1. Paul Stockman (210 pts)

Open Class:
1. Snow Mooney (208 pts); 2. Peter Wrightson (207 pts); 3. Glenn Ellis (146 pts)

Mat Kinsman #1 gets sideways in the slippery conditions to the delight of the crowd
Liam Lawson #30 leading 3rd place Jarrod Impey
Connor Burson #28 trying the “"high-line”" around the Oval
Josh Richmond #6 makes a pass on Zeal Jones #88
Thomas Boniface #67 leading the Cadet ROK field into Railway Corner

Photo credits to Peter Rogers-Jenkins


KartSport New Zealand