Karters contesting the 2013 Formula S Kartsport ProKart series will be fighting for more than round and series victory next year - three trips to the 17th annual SuperKarts USA (SKUSA) SuperNationals meeting in Las Vegas next November will also be up Supernats12 night.jpgfor grabs.

The meeting is held on a temporary circuit marked out in a hotel car park in downtown Las Vegas and is now not only the biggest annual kart meeting of its type in the United States it is also one of the biggest in the world with entries capped at 600 and a multi-day race program which starts at 8am and finishes at 9pm each day.

Members of the Formula S club first travelling to Las Vegas to contest the meeting in 2008 and spokesman Steve Brown says he can't think of a better incentive.

"It's the biggest meeting they have up there and they've got shifter (gearbox) classes for Juniors as well as Seniors so it fits right in with what we are doing here. Most of our drivers have it on their bucket list, so to win a trip to race there would be a dream come true."

The Formula S KartSport club is putting up three trip prizes, one each for the three main classes, KZ2, KZ2 Masters and KF3 Junior. The only caveat is that to be eligible for the draw a driver will have to have finished in the top six in his or her class in the 2013 New Zealandbray vegas track.jpg ProKart series.

That series kicks off at the annual Mi Sedaap instant noodles CIK Trophy of New Zealand meeting in Wellington in late January and takes in rounds in Rotorua, the Bay of Plenty, Tokoroa and the Hawke's Bay before an Auckland final in late September.

This year Auckland gearbox kart class stalwart Ryan Grant won the Mi Sedaap-backed 2012 ProKart series' KZ2 class title for a record fifth time, with the KZ2 Masters title going to Tom Curran from the Hawke's Bay and the KF3 Junior one to Josh Drysdale from Palmerston North.

The series also benefitted from the arrival of top Christchurch drivers Matthew Hamilton and Matt Williams and though entries have yet to close for the opening 2013 round in Wellington in January, Brown says early indications are that fields in all three classes will be bigger and have an even greater depth of talent.


2013 Formula S KartSport ProKart Series
Rnd 1 Jan 26-27 Mi Sedaap CIK Trophy of NZ meeting, CRC Raceway, Kaitoke, Upper Hutt
Rnd 2 March 09/10 The Rock FM Raceway, Mamaku, Rotorua
Rnd 3 April 20/21 Fagan's Valley Raceway Te Puke
Rnd 4 May 25/26 Tirau Earthmovers' Raceway Tokoroa
Rnd 5 August 17/18 The Rock Raceway, Royshill, Hastings
Rnd 6 Sept 21-22 KartSport Auckland Raceway Auckland

Scenes from 2012 Supernationals XV1. Photo credits Nigel Kurtz and GP Karts.
2012 Mi Sedaap ProKart Series KZ2 class winner Ryan Grant seen here leading former class title holder Daniel Bray and 2012 series KZ2 class runner-up Matthew Hamilton: Photo credit: Fast Company/Greg Henderson

 Prepared by FAST COMPANY on behalf of KartSport New Zealand. To find out more about the Mi Sedaap Pro Kart Series contact Ross MacKay on 021 677 919 or via e-mail on

CLICK HERE for the Series Entry Form and Supplementary Rules.

 CLICK HERE for a link to SuperKartsUSA.

KartSport New Zealand