2015 NZ Superkart.jpg



SuperKart ace Karl Wilson has equalled one of New Zealand's longest standing KartSport records by claiming his fifth straight New Zealand SuperKart title at Taupo on Saturday.15SuperkartsInternationalNZKarlWilson-4.jpg


The now Ashburton based ace was unbeaten at the meeting in his new Wayne Sproston-owned Anderson/DEA kart, winning all four International class heats as well as the Open Grand Prix.


In doing so Wilson equalled the record for consecutive New Zealand titles held by Nelson karter Grant Kugener who was the dominant figure on the SuperKart scene in the 1990s.


Kugener won five straight International titles from 1993 to 1997 and retains the record - which Wilson is now eyeing - for ultimate title wins, the Nelson man coming back after losing it to Christchurch's John Hamilton in 1998, to win a sixth International SuperKart title in 1999.


Aucklander Andrew Hall and 2007/2008 title holder Paul Dunlop from Clydevale provided Wilson with spirited competition.


The  pair ending up second and third respectively in the International class points standings and Dunlop finishing second to Wilson in the stand-alone Open Grand Prix race with Hall playing a part early on until he retired with an engine problem.


Tony Gestro also proved the pundits right in the National class, converting favourite status into overall (and 250cc division) victory despite strong competition from defending 250cc title holder and eventual overall and 250c class runner-up Chris Simmonds and quickest 15SuperkartsNational46TonyGestro-1.jpgqualifier Nick Isaac.


Lead changes were the order of the day in the first two heats with Nick Isaac winning the first from younger brother Dan and Gestro then Gestro coming back after fixing a cracked exhaust to win the second by just 0.1 of a second from Nick Isaac.


Both Isaac brothers struck mechanical problems in the later heats though, Gestro going on to claim both the overall National and 250cc titles from Chris Simmonds and Sean Cuthbert, with Cameron Dance claiming the National 125cc division title from Bradley Tremain and Mitchell Ward. Tremain then topped off his day with third overall and first National class competitor (125 or 250cc) home in the Open Grand Prix race behind Karl Wilson and Paul Dunlop.


Former title holder Gareth Playle started the day with a win in the first 125cc Rotax Max class race but it was Ryan Urban who won the other heats to claim the Lights class title - and Rotax Grand Prix race - from Playle, with category young gun Logan Boyd third in class and Julian Osborne third behind Urban and Playle in the Rotax Grand Prix.15SuperkartsRotax41TonyKinsman4GregRobinson96TeddyBassick-1.jpg


A deserving winner, meanwhile, in the Rotax Heavy class weight division was Bradley Alexander. Defending champ Daniel Sayles, David Odering and pole-sitter Caleb Hartley were quicker in quaifying but Alexander showed his racecaft and experience throughout the day to be first Heavy class entrant home in three of the four heats and the Rotax Grand Prix.


With title number five in the bag Karl Wilson is now looking further afield for his next SuperKart outing.


"Aussie's the place at the moment," he said. "We're looking at going over there again to do something."



2015 KartSport New Zealand National SuperKart Championship and Grand Prix event Ricoh Motorsport Park Taupo Sat Feb 28



1. Karl Wilson; 2. Andrew Hall; 3. Paul Dunlop; 4. Geoff Sherrell; 5. Alex Geary; 6. Martjin Weiss.


National (overall)

1. Tony Gestro; 2. Chris Simmonds; 3. Sean Cuthbert; 4. Bradley Tremain; 5. Cameron Dance; 6. Dan Isaac.


National 250cc division

1. Tony Gestro; 2. Chris Simmonds; 3. Dan Isaac; 4. Nick Isaac; 5. Sean Cuthbert; 6. Peter Hoare.


National 125cc division

1. Cameron Dance; 2. Bradley Tremain; 3. Mitchell Ward;  4. Peter Dicks; 5. Daryl Currie; 6. David Cox.


125cc Rotax Max Light

1. Ryan Urban; 2. Gareth Playle; 3. Logan Boyde; 4. Julian Osborne; 5. Tony Kinsman; 6. Mark Ongley.


125cc Rotax Max Heavy

1.Brad Alexander; 2. David Odering; 3. Daniel Sayler; 4. Karl Cameron; 5. Steve Wilton; 6. Caleb Hartley.


Open Grand Prix

1. Karl Wilson (1st International); 2. Paul Dunlop; 3. Bradley Tremain (1st National), 4. Cameron Dance, 5. Mitchell Ward, 6. Peter Dicks.


125cc Rotax Max Grand Prix

1. Ryan Urban (1st Light); 2. Gareth Playle; 3. Julian Osborne; 4. Logan Boyde; 5. Mark Ongley; 6. Tony Kinsman. (also) 8. Bradley Alexander (1st Heavy)



CAPTION: Wellington's Karl Wilson (#NZ) on his way to winning the 2015 New Zealand SuperKart Grand Prix at Taupo on Saturday. National class title winner Tony Gestro (#46). And Ricky Lang (#41), Greg Robinson (#4) and Teddy Bassick (#96) battle in one of the Rotax heat races. Photo credit: Fast Company/Petrina Aiono


Prepared by FAST COMPANY on behalf of KartSport New Zealand. To find out more about the 2015 KartSport New Zealand National SuperKart Championship and Grand Prix event contact Ross MacKay on 021 677 919 or via e-mail at ross@fastcompany.co.nz

KartSport New Zealand