CRCSS Top Half Series logo (2).jpg





Young guns Rianna O'Meara-Hunt and Ryan Wood from Wellington and Clay Osborne from Hamilton impressed on their15tophalf3 hamilton mini rok field.jpg way to junior category class wins at the latest round of the 2015 CRC Speedshow-backed Top Half kart series in Hamilton over the weekend.

In the best supported - with a 100+ entry across seven classes - and most competitive series' round to date, karters came from all over the North Island to compete in warm and largely dry conditions.

While there was also plenty of action in the senior classes, it was in the junior ones where some of the best and closest racing was seen.

Best supported class was Vortex Mini ROK, which was oversubscribed with 25 entries requiring an extra heat.

The closest round finish points-wise was in the Cadet ROK class where NZ#1 Clay Osborne and young second-15TopHalfSeriesRnd3RotaxLIghtTaylorHarte-1.jpggeneration racer Liam Sceats ended up tied on 240 points with the result - which went Osborne's way - having to go to countback with a consistent Mason Potter only one point back in third.

It was also close in Vortex Mini ROK where reigning class National Schools' champion Ryan Wood from Wellington claimed the top spot on the podium by a margin of just two points over Clay Osborne's older brother Fynn. 

Each heat was won by a different driver, with Wood's advantage over Osborne coming from his second place finishes in three of the other heats.

After an average result at the second round of the CRC Speedshow series in Whangarei last month, another Wellington karter, top emerging female driver Rianna O'Meara-Hunt, stormed back into contention at Hamilton to claim round honours in the Formula Junior class.15TopHalfSeriesRnd3VortMiniROKBlakeAustinleasBreannaMorrisandRyanCrombie-1.jpg

Like Vortex Mini ROK, Formula Junior had five different heat winners, O'Meara-Hunt amongst them, with Alex Newlove from Tauranga second and Taylor Hurst from Auckland third

In the senior classes another youngster, recent Junior category graduate Taylor Harte from Mount Maunganui, followed up his breakthrough DD2 class win at the recent Logitech Rotax Max Challenge round at Te Puke with a win in the 125cc Rotax Max Light class at Hamilton.

Harte, in only his third big meeting out of the Junior ranks, won three of the five heats to top score for the day with top local driver Rhys Tinney second and Sam Carpenter from Auckland third. 

The ClubSport 120 class was as competitive as ever, with Stephen Muggeridge from the Eastern Bay of Plenty club and Dean Oliver from Whangarei winning two heats apiece but Muggeridge getting the round win, albeit by just one point. Consistency earned Rob Norman third place with heat one winner Brendon White fourth. 15TopHalfSeriesRnd3CadetROK47MasonPotter-1.jpg

In stark contrast, Caleb Hartley from Auckland was a clear winner in 125cc Rotax Max Heavy with four heat wins from long-time class supporter Darren Aislabie (the other heat winner) from Rotorua and Darren Walker from the Bay of Plenty,

Also claiming four heat wins out a five for a class round win was Mathew Kinsman from Auckland in Open. Mitch Beach from the Bay of Plenty ended up second from round one class winner Jonathan Buxeda from Tuakau with the other heat winner, Auckland's Mark Elder, fourth.

Series competitors will now take the opportunity to attend the 2015 CRC Speedshow at Auckland's ASB showgrounds over the July 18-19 weekend before preparing for the final round of the series at KartSport Mt Wellington's Windward Properties Raceway in Auckland on Sunday July 26

More information on this year's CRC Speedshow Top Half series can be found on KartSport New Zealand's website and Facebook page 

CAPTIONS: Vortex Mini ROK field ready for a start. Photo credit KartSport Hamilton. Competing at the third round of the 2015 CRC Speedshow Top Half Series at Hamilton on Sunday were Taylor Harte (#4) in Pacific KartSport 125cc Rotax Max Light, Blake Austin (#97), Breanna Morris (#50) and Ryan Crombie (#63) in Spartan 4 Toyota Vortex Mini ROK, and Mason Potter (#47) in Jeff Oliver Print Cadet ROK. Photo credits: Fast Company/Emilee Wright

2015 CRC Speedshow Top Half Series Rnd 3 Agrisea Raceway Hamilton Sunday June 28  2015

1. Matthew Kinsman; 2. Mitchell Beach; 3. Jonathon Buxeda; 4. Mark Elder; 5. Graeme Lambert; 6. 72 Aaron Cunningham

Rotax Light sponsored by Pacific Kartsport
1. Taylor Harte; 2. Rhys Tinney; 3. Samuel Carpenter; 4. Caleb Huston; 5. Campbell Joyes; 6. Suvarn Naidoo

125cc Rotax Max Heavy sponsored by Right Karts
1. Caleb Hartley; 2. Darren Aislabie; 3. Darren Walker; 4. Ashton Baird; 5. Rohan Knowles

Racket 120 sponsored by WRB Karting Supplies
1. 51 Stephen Muggeridge; 2. Dean Oliver; 3. Rob Norman; 4. Brendon White; 5. Steve Carter; 6. Martin Gleeson

Formula Junior sponsored by Lascom Motorsport  
1. Rianna O'Meara-Hunt ; 2. Alex Newlove; 3. Taylor Hurst; 4. Ashton Grant; 5. Bayley Walker; 6. Hunter Cheetham

Vortex Mini ROK sponsored by Spartan 4 Toyota
1. Ryan Wood; 2. Fynn Osborne; 3. Connor Davison; 4. Thomas Boniface; 5. Louis Redshaw; 6. Blake Austin.  

Cadet ROK sponsored by Jeff Oliver Print Ltd
1. Clay Osborne; 2. Liam Sceats; 3. Mason Potter; 4. Ryan Hancock; 5. Luke Thompson; 6. Logan Evans 

Rnd 1: Sun April 19 Holsters Trade Zone Raceway Tokoroa
Rnd 2: Sun May 24 Business Coaching NZ Raceway Whangarei
Rnd 3: Sun June 28 Agrisea Raceway Hamilton
CRC Speedshow Sat-Sun July 18-19 ASB Showgrounds Auckland
Rnd 4: Sun July 26 Windward Properties Raceway, Mt Wellington, Auckland

Prepared by FAST COMPANY on behalf of KartSport New Zealand. To find out more about the 2015 CRC Speedshow Top Half Series contact Ross MacKay on 021 677 919 or via e-mail at






KartSport New Zealand